It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Practical Guide to the Interpretation of Cardiopulmonary Exercise Tests / William Kinnear; James H. HullMaximum oxygen uptake during exercise is one of the best predictors of operative mortality and of prognosis in chronic cardiac or respiratory disease. Cardiopulmonary exercise tests (CPET) are therefore an increasingly common component of pre-operative assessment and the management of patientswith chronic cardiopulmonary problems.Part of the Oxford Respiratory Medicine Library (ORML) series, A Practical Guide to the Interpretation of Cardiopulmonary Exercise Tests, Second Edition provides readers with a practical, concise, and accessible approach to all aspects of cardiopulmonary exercise tests (CPET). CPET is oftenperceived as being incredibly complex to evaluate so this book breaks down interpretation to simple steps, allowing readers to rapidly understand the key points underpinning the application and interpretation of CPET. The text is focused and with the use of a substantial number of figures, learningpoints, and self-test questions helps readers to build confidence in undertaking and interpreting CPET.The second edition has been extended and extensively revised in line with the latest international guidelines and evidence, and includes 16 fully updated chapters, 4 new chapters, and a new section of worked examples has been added.
Membrane Transporters in the Pathogenesis of Cardiovascular and Lung Disorders / Sergei Orlov (Volume Editor)Membrane Transporters in the Pathogenesis of Cardiovascular and Lung Disorders, Volume 83, the latest release in the Current Topics in Membranes series, highlights new advances in the field, with this volume presenting chapters from recognized experts on topics such as cardiotonic steroids, Na+, K+ pumps and vascular fibrosis, purinergic signaling in the lung, structural models of a2-subunit N-termini and binding interfaces, ubiquitous and cell type-specific transcriptomic changes triggered by dissipation of monovalent cation gradients, the Na, K-ATPase alpha2 isoform in cardiovascular pathologies, the role of cell swelling and volume-sensitive ion channels in stroke pathology, structure-function relationships in the renal NaCl cotransporter, and more.
Oxford Case Histories in Lung Cancer / Himender K. Makker; Adam Ainley; Sanjay Popat; Julian Singer; Martin Hayward; Antke HagenaOxford Case Histories in Lung Cancer contains a comprehensive selection of 40 clinical cases that reflects the multidisciplinary approach to the management of lung cancer. Written by authors specialising in respiratory medicine, oncology, pathology, radiology, palliative care, and thoracicsurgery, the cases cover both incidents commonly faced in clinical practice, or those that pose particular challenges.Each case consists of a brief case history, followed by questions and answers to discuss common questions arising during the management of lung cancer. The answers are based on the best available evidence from the latest research, and should help optimise the diagnostic pathways available topatients.The text is also extensively illustrated with over 75 CT and MRI scans and X-ray images to help the reader develop interpretative skills. The book may also be used in multidisciplinary sessions to help make arguments for patient care decisions based on real-life scenarios. This is an essential newresource for both trainees and recently appointed consultants who will work with patients who have lung cancer, specialist nurses, and lung cancer MDT co-ordinators.
Pulmonary Physiology, Ninth Edition / Michael G. LevitzkyPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Essential for USMLE and certification review! Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine For more than thirty-five years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. The book clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems. Features: * Thoroughly updated with new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references and clinical correlations * Each chapter includes clearly stated learning objectives, summaries of key concepts, illustrations of essential concepts, clinical correlations, problems, and pulmonary function test data to interpret, and suggested readings * Enables you to understand the basic concepts of pulmonary physiology well enough to apply them with confidence in future practice * Provides detailed explanations of physiologic mechanisms and demonstrates how they apply to pathologic states If you're in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology -- one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology / Andrew B. Lumb; Caroline R. ThomasNunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology, Ninth Edition, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - coverage is from basic science to clinical applications. Trusted for over 50 years, this most comprehensive single volume on respiratory physiology will prove invaluable to those in training or preparing for examinations in anaesthesia, intensive care, respiratory medicine or thoracic surgery - as well as an essential quick reference for physiologists and the range of practitioners requiring ready access to current knowledge in this field. Now fully revised and updated, this ninth edition includes a larger page format for improved clarity, as well as full access to the complete, downloadable eBook version. This incorporates BONUS chapters, handy topic summaries, interactive self-assessment material and a NEW series of expert lectures on key topics. The result is a more flexible, engaging and complete resource than ever before. Enhancements to this edition include: A new dedicated chapter on obesity - covering the effects of this global challenge on?the physiology?of the respiratory system in health and disease, in both adults and children Expanded coverage of the adverse effects of hyperoxia - including the physiology of?the now popular technique of high-flow nasal therapy A revised section on air pollution - reflecting the growing importance and understanding of the impact of pollution on the lungs and other body systems, along with the latest worldwide guidelines Detailed coverage of artificial ventilation during general anaesthesia - covering post-operative respiratory complications and the physiological basis of?current best-practice?for optimizing ventilation Print comes with enhanced eBook - includes access to the complete, fully searchable text, PLUS: bonus chapters handy chapter summaries interactive self-assessment material a NEW series of 25 expert lectures focusing on?the most essential topics in respiratory physiology
Respiratory Disease in Pregnancy / Stephen Lapinsky (Editor); Lauren Plante (Editor)Respiratory diseases affect a large proportion of the population and can cause complications when associated with pregnancy. Pregnancy induces profound anatomical and functional physiological changes in the mother, and subjects the mother to pregnancy-specific respiratory conditions. Reviewing respiratory conditions both specific and non-specific to pregnancy, the book also addresses related issues such as smoking and mechanical ventilation. Basic concepts for the obstetrician are covered, including patient history, physiology and initial examinations. Topics such as physiological changes during pregnancy and placental gas exchange are discussed for the non-obstetrician. Guidance is practical, covering antenatal and post-partum care, as well as management in the delivery suite. An essential guide to respiratory diseases in pregnancy, this book is indispensable to both obstetricians and non-obstetric physicians managing pregnant patients.