It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gunderson and Tepper's Clinical Radiation Oncology / Joel E. TepperA comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource for the entire radiation oncology team, Gunderson & Tepper's Clinical Radiation Oncology, 5th Edition, thoroughly covers all aspects of this complex and dynamic field. Concise, templated chapters cover the basic biology of oncologic disease processes as well as updated treatment algorithms, the latest clinical guidelines, and state-of-the-art techniques and modalities. More than 1,000 images-detailed anatomy drawings, radiographic images, and more-provide outstanding visual support for every area of the text. Divides content into three distinct sections for quick access to information: Scientific Foundations, Techniques and Modalities, and Disease Sites. Disease Site chapters include overviews summarizing the most important issues and concluding discussions on controversies and problems. Features new and expanded content on molecular and cellular biology and its relevance in individualized treatment approaches, stereotactic radiation therapy, radiosurgery, proton therapy, biologic therapy, precision radiation therapy, targeted radiation, dosing guidelines for better quality of life and improved patient outcomes, and more. Includes new chapters on Radiation Physics: Particle Therapy, Interventional Radiology, Radiation Therapy in the Elderly, Palliative Care, Quality and Safety, and Immunotherapy with Radiotherapy. Provides guidance on single-modality and combined-modality approaches, as well as outcome data including disease control, survival, and treatment tolerance. Includes access to videos on Intraoperative Irradiation, Prostate Brachytherapy, Penile Brachytherapy, and Ocular Melanoma. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neurosurgery Oral Board Review / Jonathan Stuart Citow (Editor); Robert Spinner (Editor); Ross Puffer (Editor)The perfect white coat study companion for acing the ABNS oral boards! The certification by the American Board of Neurological Surgery is considered as the gold standard for neurosurgeons. The final hurdle in accomplishing the certification process is the challenging oral examination. In 2017, the format of the ABNS oral exam was revised to make it more relevant, rigorous, and reflective of recent advances in neurosurgery. Therefore, in the third edition of Neurosurgery Oral Board Review the authors have expanded on the widely acclaimed prior editions. The user-friendly book is packed with all the essentials that are needed to prepare for the exam. It can be used either for a rapid review a few days prior to the exam or as an outline to organize study preparation. Each chapter starts with a collection of salient facts, followed by cases that simulate the actual oral board experience. Key Highlights Eighty entirely new, first-rate cases supplemented by a large number of images In-depth focus on the current state-of-the-art in neurosurgery, including endovascular and functional approaches, minimally-invasive brain and spine procedures, arthrodesis, etc. More than 300 outstanding anatomic drawings and radiographs to enhance the ability to visualize complex concepts Complications and emergency procedures discussed in greater detail This quintessential pocket-sized oral board review has earned its place as a trusted study companion in the past 15 years. The new and improved edition will continue to play an invaluable role for neurosurgeons prepping for this challenging final stage of ABNS certification. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases / William J. SteinbachAs the number and types of pediatric transplants increase and the complexity of chemotherapy regimens continues to evolve, there is a greater need for authoritative guidance, clinically actionable strategies, and easy-to-find information in the challenging area of immunocompromised pediatric patients. Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases offers up-to-date, targeted coverage of this complex field, compiled by world-renowned editors and authors into one convenient volume. Covers the must-know principles for diagnosing and managing opportunistic infections in immunocompromised populations and detailed aspects of their care - information not specifically covered in pediatric infectious disease textbooks or pediatric oncology books. Features algorithms in every chapter that provide visual, accessible overviews of treatment protocols. Discusses key topics such as microbiome implications in transplantation and oncology, antimicrobial resistant Gram-negative bacteria, EBV-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders, and many others. Offers well-referenced, evidence-based content throughout, with targeted suggested readings provided. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Psycho-Oncology / William Breitbart (Editor); Phyllis Butow (Editor); Paul Jacobsen (Editor); Wendy Lam (Editor); Mark Lazenby (Editor); Matthew Loscalzo (Editor)Originally published in 1998, Psycho-Oncology was the first comprehensive text in the field and remains the gold standard today. Previously led by Dr. Jimmie C. Holland, the founder of the field, this new edition is edited by a team of internationally renowned experts in psycho-oncology. Thetext reflects the interdisciplinary nature and global reach of this growing field. It covers evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from around the world, survivorship issues, psychotherapeutic interventions, and psychopharmacologic interventions.Thoroughly updated and developed in collaboration with the American Psychosocial Oncology Society and the intrnational Psycho-oncology Society, the fourth edition is a current, comprehensive reference for psychiatrists, psychologists, oncologists, hospice workers, and social workers seeking tounderstand and manage the psychological issues involved in the care of persons with cancer and the psychological, social, and behavioral factors that contribute to cancer risk and survival.
Textbook of Complex General Surgical OncologyPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most current, comprehensive, and authoritative guide to surgical oncology A Doody's Core Title for 2019! As cancer care has continued to evolve in the 21st century, so too has the management of specific neoplasms through surgery. Keeping pace with this dynamic subspecialty calls for a state-of-the-art resource that combines oncologic principles with surgical treatment plans. Textbook of General Surgical Oncology is just such a resource. Encyclopedic in scope and featuring the insights of more than 300 thought leaders in their respective surgical and medical oncology disciplines, this indispensable guide illuminates both common and uncommon issues. The book's 165 chapters span virtually every clinical scenario oncologic surgeons are likely to encounter, resulting in the most complete, rigorous overview of surgical oncology available. Textbook of General Surgical Oncology begins with an in-depth review of the general concepts and principles of genomics, epigenetics, pathology, targeted therapy, regional therapy, and patient safety in surgical oncology. The text then focuses on site-specific neoplasms, such as those of the skin, soft tissue, head/neck, lung, mediastinum, breast, pleura, peritoneum--plus tumors that affect various systems, including the endocrine, gastrointestinal, and hepatobiliary. Features * Each chapter is written by an internationally recognized expert on the topic * Outstanding review for the new Complex General Surgical Oncology certification examination * Helps prepare trainees of various surgical subspecialties for their in-training examinations and surgical board exams * Numerous full-color illustrations highlight relevant anatomy and surgical technique
Transnasal Endoscopic Skull Base and Brain Surgery / Aldo C. Stamm (Editor)Outstanding endoscopic skull base surgical resource presents cutting-edge approaches from multidisciplinary global experts Transnasal endoscopic skull base and brain surgery have undergone major technical advances in recent years. The accumulation of experience and exciting technological innovations - including high-definition cameras, more ergonomic and precise surgical instruments, as well as new hemostatic agents - have enabled safer and more efficacious treatment of lesions affecting highly complex and delicate regions. This fully revised and updated second edition of Transnasal Endoscopic Skull Base and Brain Surgery: Surgical Anatomy and its Applications builds on the acclaimed first edition, focusing on the correlation between endoscopic skull base anatomy and state-of-the-art clinical applications. Among these are the transplanum/transtuberculum, transcribrifom, transclival, and craniocervical junction surgical approaches. Renowned skull base surgeon Aldo Stamm and leading worldwide experts have compiled a comprehensive multidisciplinary textbook with 72 chapters in 14 sections, didactically organized by regions and diseases. Detailed descriptions of sinonasal, orbital, cranial base, and intracranial anatomy, imaging modalities, and in-depth surgical navigation techniques form the foundation of this remarkable book. The content reflects significant knowledge and diverse perspectives from masters in neurosurgery, otorhinolaryngology, head and neck surgery, neuroendocrinology, intensive care, neuro-anesthesiology, and other disciplines. Key Highlights Chapter summaries and highlights facilitate understanding and retention of complex concepts More than 700 beautiful anatomical, operative, and dissection illustrations and photographs enhance understanding of impacted areas 20 accompanying videos provide guidance on endoscopic transnasal approaches in patients with diverse skull base diseases Pearls, pitfalls, and nuances throughout this book provide invaluable insights on achieving optimal outcomes Neurosurgeons, otolaryngologists-head and neck surgeons, and others will greatly benefit from the step-by-step endoscopic procedural guidance and tips in this quintessential skull base surgical reference. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Khan's Treatment Planning in Radiation Oncology / Faiz M. Khan; Paul W. Sperduto; John P. GibbonsOffering comprehensive coverage of the clinical, physical, and technical aspects of radiation treatment planning, Khan's Treatment Planning in Radiation Oncology, Fifth Edition, provides a team approach to this complex field. Drs. Paul W. Sperduto and John P. Gibbons are joined by expert contributing authors who focus on the application of physical and clinical concepts to solve treatment planning problems--helping you provide effective, state-of-the-art care for cancer patients. This unique, well-regarded text has been updated throughout to reflect the most current practices in today's radiation oncology treatment. Incorporates the most up-to-date imaging techniques and radiation treatment modalities used to treat patients with cancer. Contains new chapters on patient safety, knowledge-based treatment planning and the treatment planning implications of combined radiation and immunotherapy. Includes key points for more focused study and study questions at the end of each chapter, many with newly expanded explanations. Discusses the scientific background and the key aspects of each clinical approach to ensure that you gain a well-rounded understanding of how to plan treatment from both a technical and a clinical perspective. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Perez and Brady's Principles and Practice of Radiation Oncology / Edward C. Halperin; David E. Wazer; Carlos A. Perez; Luther W. BradySelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! For more than 30 years, Perez and Brady's Principles and Practice of Radiation Oncology has been the must-have standard reference for radiation oncologists and radiation oncology residents who need a comprehensive text covering both the biological and physical science aspects of this complex field as well as disease site-specific information on the integrated, multidisciplinary management of patients with cancer. The book has established itself as the discipline's "text-of-record," belonging on the shelf of all of those working in the field. The Seventh Edition continues this tradition of excellence with extensive updates throughout, many new chapters, and more than 1,400 full-color illustrations that highlight key concepts in tumor pathogenesis, diagnosis, and targeted radiation therapy. Comprehensive coverage of the current state of knowledge of cancer biology; medical radiation physics; clinical radiation oncology; and radiation oncology economics, ethics, and public policy. Regular, twice-yearly content updates available with the digital version of the text. Ideal for radiation oncologists, radiation oncology residents, radiation biologists, medical radiation physicists, oncologists, physicists-in-training, radiation dosimetrists, and nurses and physician assistants working in radiation oncology departments. New chapters include: Proton and Carbon Ion Beam Dosimetry and Treatment Planning; Stereotactic Radiation Therapy; Re-Irradiation; Error Avoidance; Undergraduate, Graduate, and Continuing Medical Education in Radiation Oncology; and a completely rewritten chapter on the economics of radiation oncology. Designed to provide a better understanding of the natural history of cancer, the physical and technological methods of radiation application, the effects of irradiation on normal tissues, and the most judicious ways in which radiation therapy can be employed in the treatment of patients with cancer, either as a single modality or as part of a multi-modality treatment program. All references printed in the book are now streamlined for quick access to further information. Site-specific chapters include relevant background information on each tumor--including epidemiology, pathology, diagnostic work-up, prognostic factors, treatment techniques, applications of surgery, chemotherapy, immunotherapy and biological therapy, end results, and more. Increased focus on new approaches and technologies with new and updated chapters. Greater emphasis on palliative and supportive care reflects the role of radiation treatment in non-curative roles. An international group of expert chapter authors keeps you well-informed. A completely revised first chapter is designed to provide an overview of the discipline of radiation oncology. This will be particularly useful for residents beginning training and medical students beginning a radiation oncology clinical clerkship. The chapter is supplemented with multiple sidebars to augment the reader's understanding of the field. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Pediatric Radiation Oncology / Louis S. Constine; Nancy J. Tarbell; Edward C. HalperinSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! BMA Medical Book Awards 2017?: Oncology - Highly Commended ?The British Medical Association honored Pediatric Radiation Oncology, 6th Edition with this prestigious award. Pediatric Radiation Oncology, Sixth Edition continues to be the premier reference that offers comprehensive coverage of this challenging area for the radiation oncologist in training or practice, medical radiation physicists and dosimetrists, as well as pediatric oncologists and others interested in understanding childhood malignancies. This definitive text has been completely updated to reflect recent advances in the field. Manageable in size and engaging to read, it efficiently synthesizes data on pathogenesis, pathology, diagnostic workup, staging, treatment approaches (particularly radiation therapy--indications, doses, volumes, and treatment planning), and toxic outcomes, as well as guidance on decision making when data is lacking. For 30 years, this standard reference has helped demystify radiation therapy for childhood cancer and contributed to the quality and quantity of life for children affected by this disease. Key Features: Each concise, full-color section focuses on one tumor type and guides you through an understanding of the disease, diagnostic and staging studies, treatment strategies, and, if needed, how to implement radiation therapy. Technological advances in radiation oncology and how they relate to the pediatric patient are incorporated into the text to keep you up to date. All chapters have been fully updated, including integration of the latest clinical trial data. Expert global contributors provide current patient management options and treatment recommendations in each chapter. References are now available both in print and online Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use