Pediatric Cardiology / Gil Wernovsky; James S. Tweddell; Kumar Krishna; Kathleen A. Mussato; Andrew Redington; Robert H. Anderson; Justin TretterAs a leading reference on pediatric cardiology and congenital heart disease, Anderson's Pediatric Cardiology provides exhaustive coverage of potential pediatric cardiovascular anomalies, potential sequelae related to these anomalies, comorbidities and neurodevelopmental problems, and current methods for management and treatment. The fully revised 4th Edition addresses significant and ongoing changes in practice, including recent developments in fetal, neonatal, and adult congenital heart conditions as well as expanded content on intensive care, nursing issues, and societal implications. The outstanding illustration program provides superb visual guidance, and is now supplemented with a remarkable collection of more than 200 professionally curated, author-narrated videos. Offers authoritative, long-term coverage of a broad spectrum of cardiology conditions, including congenital heart disease, adult congenital heart disease (ACHD), acquired heart disease, cardiomyopathies, and rhythm disturbances. Features exquisite specimen images by Dr. Robert Anderson and Diane Spicer dissected in easily recognizable analogous imaging planes. These are included in the over 850 anatomic, photographic, imaging, and algorithmic figures, and incorporate new images using virtual dissections of 3D datasets obtained in living patients. An extensive new section describing the non-cardiac consequences of congenital cardiac disease and other related issues Outside the Heart, including new chapters on quality improvement in congenital cardiac disease, models of care delivery, neurocognitive assessment and outcomes, psychosocial issues for patients and families, ethics, nursing implications, acute and chronic renal complications, and telemedicine. Three entirely new, expanded sections on the Functionally Univentricular Heart, Fetal Congenital Cardiac Disease, and Heart Failure and Transplantation. Provides a new focus on patient and family-centered care with expert advice on how to communicate difficult diagnoses to patients and families. Features new integration of nursing content into all disease-specific chapters, as well as updated content on genetics, congenital heart disease and follow-up, and new imaging modalities. Contains chapters on new and emerging topics such as MRI and Quantifying the Fetal Circulation in Congenital Cardiac Disease; Congenital Anomalies of the Coronary Arteries; and The Global Burden of Pediatric Heart Disease and Pediatric Cardiac Care in Low- and Middle-Income Countries Shares the experience and knowledge of an international team of multidisciplinary experts in medicine and advanced practice nursing. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, tables and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0702076082
발행일자: 2019-07-05
Mechanical Circulatory Support: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease / James K. Kirklin; Joseph G. RogersOffering comprehensive, authoritative coverage of mechanical circulatory support (MCS), this fully revised companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease provides the clinically relevant information you need to effectively use this therapy to treat and manage end-stage heart failure. New editors and authors - experts in both cardiology and cardiovascular surgery - bring you fully up to date with the newest technology and devices, as well as basic science, clinical applications, adverse event monitoring and management, socioeconomic implications, future directions, and more. Covers all of the newest techniques, including new-generation devices. Discusses the management of common patient problems, highlighting cautions and outcomes, as well as pathophysiology and rationale for treatment. Brings you up to speed with the latest coverage of ventricular assist devices (VAD), extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO), next-generation centrifugal pumps, and total artificial hearts. Provides a complete clinical perspective of the latest scientific breakthroughs and analysis of the current literature. Includes coverage of the most recent guidelines and protocols, including MCS for pediatric and congenital heart disease; the Interagency Registry of Mechanically Assisted Circulatory Support (INTERMACS) as a tool to track and advance clinical practice; and cellular, molecular, genomic, and functional changes that occur in the failing heart in response to MCS. Presents practical evidence from the registry of thousands of cases to guide cardiologists, cardiovascular surgeons, emergency physicians, primary care physicians, and other team members on the best management course to follow for each particular patient. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
ISBN: 0323566995
발행일자: 2019-09-25
Hemodynamics and Cardiology / Istvan SeriDr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the most challenging aspects of neonatal care, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient. Stay fully up to date in this fast-changing field with Hemodynamics and Cardiology, 3rd Edition. A new editorial team and a completely redesigned volume with state-of-the-art chapters on neonatal hemodynamics. New chapters on the role of delayed cord clamping/cord milking, the relationship between neonatal transition and brain injury, the hemodynamics of the asphyxiated neonate, the hemodynamic impact of therapeutic hypothermia, and practical physiology-based approaches to the diagnosis and treatment of neonatal hypotension, PPHN and PDA. A new section discusses comprehensive real-time monitoring of neonatal hemodynamics, and its role in the establishment of precision medicine in neonatology and the prediction of neonatal sepsis using mathematical modelling of heart rate variability. Expanded sections review the clinical application of the tools available for bedside monitoring of systemic and organ blood flow and oxygen delivery and the approaches to the pathophysiology-based treatment of neonatal shock and outcomes. Consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily. The most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 7-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Gastroenterology and Nutrition Hematology, Immunology and Genetics Hemodynamics and Cardiology Infectious Disease and Pharmacology New Volume! Nephrology and Fluid/Electrolyte Physiology
ISBN: 0323533663
발행일자: 2019
The ESC Textbook of Sports Cardiology / Antonio Pelliccia (Editor); Hein Heidbuchel (Editor); Domenico Corrado (Editor); Mats Borjesson (Editor); Sanjay Sharma (Editor)Sports and exercise have been intensely advocated as protective lifestyle measures which prevent or reduce the risk of severe health issues, including cardiovascular disease. More extreme forms of sports (for instance at high altitudes) have been identified as an important way of promotingcardiovascular adaptation, but have also been associated with adverse effects and even major cardiovascular events in predisposed individuals. Participating in more commonplace sports and exercise, such as football, may also increase a person's risk of cardiac events. This publication is timely inthe light of a burgeoning number of clinical papers in the field.The ESC Textbook of Sports Cardiology provides an overview of the detection and treatment of cardiovascular disease in elite athletes and young sports professionals in training, as well as prevention. It will be useful for clinical cardiologists, sports physicians, and general physicians alike.Split into 11 key areas in sports cardiology, ranging from sudden cardiac death in athletes to the most common cardiovascular abnormalities seen in athletes, and to the effects of substance abuse and doping, the text is an invaluable resource covering all aspects of sports cardiology.Access to the digital version of the textbook is included with purchase of the printed version. Highly illustrated with embedded multimedia features, together with cross-referenced links to related content and primary research data in major journals in the field, the digital version provides userswith a dynamic and forward-thinking resource.The ESC Textbook of Sports Cardiology is the second textbook from the European Association of Preventive Cardiology (EAPC) and aligns with ESC clinical practice guidelines and EAPC recommendations and position papers.
ISBN: 0198779747
발행일자: 2019-05-15
Pathophysiology of Heart Disease 7 / LILLYSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Enthusiastically acclaimed by medical students and faculty worldwide, this text is specifically designed to prepare students for their first encounters with patients with cardiovascular disease. Thoroughly revised by internationally recognized Harvard Medical School faculty and a team of select cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, this seventh edition equips students with a clear, complete, and clinically relevant understanding of cardiovascular pathophysiology, setting a strong foundation for patient diagnosis and management. New seventh edition highlights: Review questions and answers in each chapter prepare students for course and board exams. New contributors include cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, who worked closely with faculty to extend coverage of clinically pertinent issues for medical students. Updated content reflects the latest understanding of mechanisms of cardiac disease and technological advances. Classic student-friendly features: Full-color illustrations help readers visualize and quickly grasp key concepts. Medical imaging and color clinical photographs show real-world examples of many clinically relevant cardiovascular conditions. Introductory chapter outlines and end-of-chapter summaries provide organized, quick review of core information. Bonus online study tools: Animations help support understanding of complex, dynamic disease processes. Interactive question bank reinforces learning and improves retention.
ISBN: 1975120590
발행일자: 2020-08-05
Valvular Heart Disease: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease / Catherine M. Otto; Robert O. BonowCovering the full range of diagnosis and treatment for valvular heart disease, this award-winning reference provides the information you need for safe and effective practice. Part of the Brauwald's family of heart disease references, Valvular Heart Disease, 5th Edition, brings you fully up to date with the latest procedures, imaging modalities, basic science, diagnostic criteria, and treatment guidelines in this fast-changing area. Internationally renowned authors Dr. Catherine M. Otto and Dr. Robert O. Bonow help you apply today's best, evidence-based medical and surgical approaches in your daily practice. Covers current topics such as transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR), timing of intervention for mitral regurgitation, imaging guidance of transcatheter valve procedures, management of prosthetic valve, advanced imaging of the aortic and mitral valves, management of valve disease in pregnant women, and advances in diagnosis and treatment of endocarditis. Contains new chapters on the imaging approach before TAVR, transcatheter valve-in-valve implantation for prosthetic valve stenosis, and management of pulmonic valve disease. Provides summaries of ACC, AHA, and ESC guidelines for guidance on best practices. Includes all the latest imaging modalities for a full understanding of tools needed for the most accurate physiologic understanding and accurate diagnoses. Offers access to 80 videos that help you visualize heart valve anatomy and dysfunction, as well as important techniques and procedures. Features an extensive number of new and updated illustrations of anatomy and physiology, methodology, flow charts, and clinical examples-750 high-quality images in all. Reorganizes chapters to closely link imaging and interventional approaches for aortic and mitral valve disease. Emphasizes evidence-based approaches with outcome data and relevant references. 2014 BMA Medical Book Awards 1st Prize Award Winner in Cardiology category. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Cardiology /
As a leading reference on pediatric cardiology and congenital heart disease, Anderson's Pediatric Cardiology provides exhaustive coverage of potential pediatric cardiovascular anomalies, potential sequelae related to these anomalies, comorbidities and neurodevelopmental problems, and current methods for management and treatment. The fully revised 4th Edition addresses significant and ongoing changes in practice, including recent developments in fetal, neonatal, and adult congenital heart conditions as well as expanded content on intensive care, nursing issues, and societal implications. The outstanding illustration program provides superb visual guidance, and is now supplemented with a remarkable collection of more than 200 professionally curated, author-narrated videos. Offers authoritative, long-term coverage of a broad spectrum of cardiology conditions, including congenital heart disease, adult congenital heart disease (ACHD), acquired heart disease, cardiomyopathies, and rhythm disturbances. Features exquisite specimen images by Dr. Robert Anderson and Diane Spicer dissected in easily recognizable analogous imaging planes. These are included in the over 850 anatomic, photographic, imaging, and algorithmic figures, and incorporate new images using virtual dissections of 3D datasets obtained in living patients. An extensive new section describing the non-cardiac consequences of congenital cardiac disease and other related issues Outside the Heart, including new chapters on quality improvement in congenital cardiac disease, models of care delivery, neurocognitive assessment and outcomes, psychosocial issues for patients and families, ethics, nursing implications, acute and chronic renal complications, and telemedicine. Three entirely new, expanded sections on the Functionally Univentricular Heart, Fetal Congenital Cardiac Disease, and Heart Failure and Transplantation. Provides a new focus on patient and family-centered care with expert advice on how to communicate difficult diagnoses to patients and families. Features new integration of nursing content into all disease-specific chapters, as well as updated content on genetics, congenital heart disease and follow-up, and new imaging modalities. Contains chapters on new and emerging topics such as MRI and Quantifying the Fetal Circulation in Congenital Cardiac Disease; Congenital Anomalies of the Coronary Arteries; and The Global Burden of Pediatric Heart Disease and Pediatric Cardiac Care in Low- and Middle-Income Countries Shares the experience and knowledge of an international team of multidisciplinary experts in medicine and advanced practice nursing. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, tables and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0702076082발행일자: 2019-07-05
Mechanical Circulatory Support: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease /
Offering comprehensive, authoritative coverage of mechanical circulatory support (MCS), this fully revised companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease provides the clinically relevant information you need to effectively use this therapy to treat and manage end-stage heart failure. New editors and authors - experts in both cardiology and cardiovascular surgery - bring you fully up to date with the newest technology and devices, as well as basic science, clinical applications, adverse event monitoring and management, socioeconomic implications, future directions, and more. Covers all of the newest techniques, including new-generation devices. Discusses the management of common patient problems, highlighting cautions and outcomes, as well as pathophysiology and rationale for treatment. Brings you up to speed with the latest coverage of ventricular assist devices (VAD), extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO), next-generation centrifugal pumps, and total artificial hearts. Provides a complete clinical perspective of the latest scientific breakthroughs and analysis of the current literature. Includes coverage of the most recent guidelines and protocols, including MCS for pediatric and congenital heart disease; the Interagency Registry of Mechanically Assisted Circulatory Support (INTERMACS) as a tool to track and advance clinical practice; and cellular, molecular, genomic, and functional changes that occur in the failing heart in response to MCS. Presents practical evidence from the registry of thousands of cases to guide cardiologists, cardiovascular surgeons, emergency physicians, primary care physicians, and other team members on the best management course to follow for each particular patient. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
ISBN: 0323566995발행일자: 2019-09-25
Hemodynamics and Cardiology /
Dr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the most challenging aspects of neonatal care, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient. Stay fully up to date in this fast-changing field with Hemodynamics and Cardiology, 3rd Edition. A new editorial team and a completely redesigned volume with state-of-the-art chapters on neonatal hemodynamics. New chapters on the role of delayed cord clamping/cord milking, the relationship between neonatal transition and brain injury, the hemodynamics of the asphyxiated neonate, the hemodynamic impact of therapeutic hypothermia, and practical physiology-based approaches to the diagnosis and treatment of neonatal hypotension, PPHN and PDA. A new section discusses comprehensive real-time monitoring of neonatal hemodynamics, and its role in the establishment of precision medicine in neonatology and the prediction of neonatal sepsis using mathematical modelling of heart rate variability. Expanded sections review the clinical application of the tools available for bedside monitoring of systemic and organ blood flow and oxygen delivery and the approaches to the pathophysiology-based treatment of neonatal shock and outcomes. Consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily. The most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 7-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Gastroenterology and Nutrition Hematology, Immunology and Genetics Hemodynamics and Cardiology Infectious Disease and Pharmacology New Volume! Nephrology and Fluid/Electrolyte Physiology
ISBN: 0323533663발행일자: 2019
The ESC Textbook of Sports Cardiology /
Sports and exercise have been intensely advocated as protective lifestyle measures which prevent or reduce the risk of severe health issues, including cardiovascular disease. More extreme forms of sports (for instance at high altitudes) have been identified as an important way of promotingcardiovascular adaptation, but have also been associated with adverse effects and even major cardiovascular events in predisposed individuals. Participating in more commonplace sports and exercise, such as football, may also increase a person's risk of cardiac events. This publication is timely inthe light of a burgeoning number of clinical papers in the field.The ESC Textbook of Sports Cardiology provides an overview of the detection and treatment of cardiovascular disease in elite athletes and young sports professionals in training, as well as prevention. It will be useful for clinical cardiologists, sports physicians, and general physicians alike.Split into 11 key areas in sports cardiology, ranging from sudden cardiac death in athletes to the most common cardiovascular abnormalities seen in athletes, and to the effects of substance abuse and doping, the text is an invaluable resource covering all aspects of sports cardiology.Access to the digital version of the textbook is included with purchase of the printed version. Highly illustrated with embedded multimedia features, together with cross-referenced links to related content and primary research data in major journals in the field, the digital version provides userswith a dynamic and forward-thinking resource.The ESC Textbook of Sports Cardiology is the second textbook from the European Association of Preventive Cardiology (EAPC) and aligns with ESC clinical practice guidelines and EAPC recommendations and position papers.
ISBN: 0198779747발행일자: 2019-05-15
Pathophysiology of Heart Disease 7 /
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Enthusiastically acclaimed by medical students and faculty worldwide, this text is specifically designed to prepare students for their first encounters with patients with cardiovascular disease. Thoroughly revised by internationally recognized Harvard Medical School faculty and a team of select cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, this seventh edition equips students with a clear, complete, and clinically relevant understanding of cardiovascular pathophysiology, setting a strong foundation for patient diagnosis and management. New seventh edition highlights: Review questions and answers in each chapter prepare students for course and board exams. New contributors include cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, who worked closely with faculty to extend coverage of clinically pertinent issues for medical students. Updated content reflects the latest understanding of mechanisms of cardiac disease and technological advances. Classic student-friendly features: Full-color illustrations help readers visualize and quickly grasp key concepts. Medical imaging and color clinical photographs show real-world examples of many clinically relevant cardiovascular conditions. Introductory chapter outlines and end-of-chapter summaries provide organized, quick review of core information. Bonus online study tools: Animations help support understanding of complex, dynamic disease processes. Interactive question bank reinforces learning and improves retention.
ISBN: 1975120590발행일자: 2020-08-05
Valvular Heart Disease: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease /
Covering the full range of diagnosis and treatment for valvular heart disease, this award-winning reference provides the information you need for safe and effective practice. Part of the Brauwald's family of heart disease references, Valvular Heart Disease, 5th Edition, brings you fully up to date with the latest procedures, imaging modalities, basic science, diagnostic criteria, and treatment guidelines in this fast-changing area. Internationally renowned authors Dr. Catherine M. Otto and Dr. Robert O. Bonow help you apply today's best, evidence-based medical and surgical approaches in your daily practice. Covers current topics such as transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR), timing of intervention for mitral regurgitation, imaging guidance of transcatheter valve procedures, management of prosthetic valve, advanced imaging of the aortic and mitral valves, management of valve disease in pregnant women, and advances in diagnosis and treatment of endocarditis. Contains new chapters on the imaging approach before TAVR, transcatheter valve-in-valve implantation for prosthetic valve stenosis, and management of pulmonic valve disease. Provides summaries of ACC, AHA, and ESC guidelines for guidance on best practices. Includes all the latest imaging modalities for a full understanding of tools needed for the most accurate physiologic understanding and accurate diagnoses. Offers access to 80 videos that help you visualize heart valve anatomy and dysfunction, as well as important techniques and procedures. Features an extensive number of new and updated illustrations of anatomy and physiology, methodology, flow charts, and clinical examples-750 high-quality images in all. Reorganizes chapters to closely link imaging and interventional approaches for aortic and mitral valve disease. Emphasizes evidence-based approaches with outcome data and relevant references. 2014 BMA Medical Book Awards 1st Prize Award Winner in Cardiology category. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323546331발행일자: 2020-06-29
