It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Big Picture Physiology-Medical Course and Step 1 Review / Jonathan D. KibblePublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Get the BIG PICTURE of medical physiology―with high yield content that makes learning easier and quicker than ever Packed with easy-to-understand bulleted copy focusing only on the facts you need to know, Medical Physiology: The Big Picture - Medical Course and Step 1 provides text and videos, all in one location to help the reader better comprehend content. This complete, yet concise treatment covers all the major topics in medical physiology. You'll find chapters on neurophysiology, blood, cardiovascular physiology, pulmonary physiology, renal and acid base balance, the gastrointestinal system, the endocrine system, and reproductive physiology―each of which includes video. Here is everything you need to learn and review physiology quickly and efficiently. This invaluable resource features: 450 full-color figures illustrating essential processes 190 board exam-style questions and answers Complementary videos for every chapter (videos are in 4-7 minute segments) Special icons highlighting important clinical information High yield clinical pearls and clinical examples highlighting the relevance and application of physiologic concepts A full practice test organized by body system to allow either comprehensive testing or focused review.
Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice / Michael G. LevitzkyA clinically relevant, reader -friendly text covering everything the anesthesia provider must know about physiology This well-illustrated new resource is the most concise and high-yield presentation of physiology topics available to the anesthesia provider. The authors (who are both educators and clinicians) deliver a complete overview of physiology, but, since this book is written for the anesthesia provider, the bulk of the text is dedicated to cardiovascular and respiratory physiology. Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice distinguishes itself from general medical physiology books by the inclusion of case studies and clinical correlation boxed inserts that emphasize key fact that relate to real-world practice. *Numerous case studies demonstrate the clinical relevance of basic science *The author are experienced educators and clinicians, and know how to present difficult concepts in the most interesting and reader-friendly manner possible *Key Points summarize must-know information, providing an excellent framework for board review
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition / Richard F. LeBlond; Donald D. Brown; Manish Suneja; Joseph F. SzotPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The classic guide to the undifferentiated patient-enhanced by new cases Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places--yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades--and this revised edition brings you completely up to date. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis. * Covers the latest developments in evidence-based physical examinations * Explains how to obtain a complete patient history and perform a thorough physical exam * Organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes to make finding what you need quick and easy * Connects symptoms and signs with disease pathophysiology * Facilitates efficient, cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with the unchanging aspects of clinical medicine.
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology / John E. HallKnown for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Physiology of Sport and Exercise / W. Larry Kenney; Jack H. Wilmore; David L. Costill"Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Sixth Edition With Web Study Guide," frames research findings in physiology in a reader-friendly format, making this textbook a favorite of instructors and students alike. This resource offers a simple way for students to develop an understanding of the body's abilities to perform various types and intensities of exercise and sport, to adapt to stressful situations, and to improve its physiological capacities. Written by a team of distinguished researchers, all past presidents of the American College of Sports Medicine, this updated sixth edition has been enhanced with new elements to facilitate learning comprehension. The redesigned photos, illustrations, and medical artwork of the fifth edition that clarified difficult concepts and illustrated how the body performs are now complemented by new digital components. Seven animations have been added, bringing the total to 25 and providing a dynamic way to experience course material. The 60 audio clips provide explanations of complex physiological processes to aid students' understanding of important illustrations in the text, and approximately 20 video clips from leaders in the field discuss recent developments and real-world applications to help students connect theoretical and practical concepts. Corresponding icons throughout the text notify students when digital elements are available to complement the materials. In addition to the improved digital components, "Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Sixth Edition," features new and updated content based on the latest research in the field: - Updated information on high-intensity interval training (HIIT), interactions between resistance training and diet, and the relationship between protein intake and muscle synthesis - A reorganized chapter on ergogenic aids and a clearer organization of prohibited versus legal substances - Extensively revised chapters on physical activity and disease, including updated treatment guidelines and understandings of metabolism and disease processes - New information on the health effects of prolonged sitting as well as osteoporosis, bone health, and effects of exercise during menopause - A series of 76 Research Perspectives emphasizing new and emerging findings in the field Ease of reading has been the cornerstone of this popular text. The sixth edition of" Physiology of Sport and Exercise" continues to offer comprehensive coverage of the complex relationship between human physiology and exercise while maintaining an engaging and student-friendly tone. Unique learning features allow students to build their knowledge as they discover the depth and breadth of this fascinating field of study. The book's accessible layout, including chapter-opening outlines and review boxes throughout each chapter, will help students focus on the major concepts addressed. Study questions and a list of key terms at the end of the chapter increase students' opportunities for recall and self-testing. A comprehensive glossary and lists of common abbreviations and conversions provide easy reference for students as they complete labs and assignments. To expand the material and provide an enriched learning experience, both students and instructors can take advantage of the web-based ancillaries that accompany the text. In addition to new animations, videos, and audio clips, the web study guide includes comprehension quizzes to provide immediate feedback to students on their knowledge retention as well as end-of-unit mastery checks that students can use for evaluating their progress. Instructors are provided with access to an instructor guide, test package, ready-to-use chapter quizzes, and a presentation package plus image bank. The presentation package includes PowerPoint slides with key points and content, which can be modified to suit a variety of class structures. An image bank features all of the graphics, artwork, and content photos from the te
Cognitive Plasticity in Neurologic Disorders / Joseph I. Tracy (Editor); Benjamin M. Hampstead (Editor); K. Sathian (Editor)Cognitive Plasticity in Neurologic Disorders describes and specifies the cognitive impact of neuroplastic processes in key neurologic disorders and syndromes. It is set apart from previous works in this area by its emphasis on the changing quality of neurocognition, demonstrating that thisdynamic nature emerges from the neuroplastic processes at work in both mild and severe states of brain disease or injury. This resource describes the ways neurological illness or trauma (or attempts to treat patients with such conditions) can trigger neuroplastic mechanisms in the brain, inducingcognitive reorganization and remapping of brain networks. Each chapter shows how the cognitive and behavioral presentation of the disorder mirrors the changing neurobiologic context, and displays the numerous techniques being employed (e.g. behavior and rehabilitation therapies, electrical stimulation, and computer/machine neuromodulation of brainsignals) underlying the neurobiology in ways that facilitate adaptive plasticity and cognitive recovery. An important feature of the book involves characterizing the degree to which the mechanistic principles governing neuroplastic responses and cognitive reorganization in the brain have beenelucidated, making clear that it is these principles which will allow us to further develop rational rehabilitative therapies, match patients to appropriate treatments, and even begin to predict clinical treatment outcomes.
The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry / David C. Steffens (Editor); Dan G. Blazer (Editor); Mugdha E. Thakur (Editor)The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry is an indispensable resource for psychiatric clinicians and trainees charged with assessing, diagnosing, and treating mental disorders in our nation's burgeoning population of older adults, as well as the nurses and other professionals who provide critically important care day to day. Building on the prodigious strengths of previous editions, this revision is the most current, comprehensive, and systematic textbook of geriatric psychiatry available today, and the only one that is DSM-5® concordant. The text's organization is user-friendly and practical, with sections addressing the basic science of geriatric psychiatry, the diagnostic interview in late life, psychiatric disorders in late life, treatment, and special topics. In addition, an array of useful features are included: * The new DSM-5 structure and classifications have been integrated into every chapter, ensuring that readers understand how the changes impact diagnosis and patient care. * Not only do the authors provide up-to-date information on psychiatric disorders, they also contextualize that information for the geriatric population, presenting the latest thinking on the phenomenology, diagnosis, and assessment of late-life mental disorders such as dementia and other neurocognitive disorders, mood disorders, anxiety disorders, and circadian rhythm disorders. * All treatment sections have been thoroughly updated to incorporate the most recent knowledge and research findings on psychotherapeutic, psychopharmacological, and other somatic treatments.* The book offers an impressive set of graphical and illustrative features to help the reader comprehend and retain the material, including outlines, bulleted key points, and tables, as well as lists of essential readings to deepen understanding of complex topics. Widely recognized as the standard in its field, The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry serves a critical need for clinicians challenged to meet the mental health needs of an aging population.