It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anesthesia Equipment / Jan Ehrenwerth; James B. Eisenkraft; James M. BerryOffering highly visual, easy-to-read coverage of the full range of anesthesia equipment in use today, this authoritative reference is your go-to text for objective, informed answers to ensure optimal patient safety. Anesthesia Equipment, 3rd Edition, provides detailed information on the intricate workings of each device or workstation, keeping you fully up to date and helping you meet both equipment and patient care challenges. Remains unequalled in both depth and breadth of coverage, offering readable, concise guidance on all aspects of today's anesthesia machines and equipment. Details the latest machines, vaporizers, ventilators, breathing systems, vigilance, ergonomics, and simulation. Improves your understanding of the physical principles of equipment, the rationale for its use, delivery systems for inhalational anesthesia, systems monitoring, hazards and safety features, maintenance and quality assurance, special situations/equipment for non-routine adult anesthesia, and future directions for the field. Includes ASA Practice Parameters for care, and helps you ensure patient safety with detailed advice on risk management and medicolegal implications of equipment use. Highlights the text with hundreds of full-color line drawings and photographs, graphs, and charts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Anesthesia Secrets / Brian M. Keech; Ryan D. Laterza (Editor)For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology. This bestselling resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapters on Electrocardiogram Interpretation, Cardiac Physiology, Vasoactive Agents, Volume Assessment, Blood Pressure Disturbances, Mechanical Ventilation Strategies, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Echocardiography, Neuraxial Techniques, Peripheral Nerve and Trunk Blocks, Patient Safety, and Medical Ethics.?? Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Anesthesiology: a Problem-Based Learning Approach / Tracey Straker (Editor); Shobana Rajan (Editor); Magdalena Anitescu (Series edited by)Linking existing knowledge to new knowledge by presenting it in the form of a case or a problem is a popular and effective educational approach resulting in better retention of the knowledge and improved ability to apply that knowledge to solve real problems. This problem-based learning (PBL)method was introduced into medical education at McMaster University in Ontario, Canada, in 1969. Since then it has been widely incorporated into secondary, undergraduate, and graduate education in a variety of disciplines worldwide.This new volume for the Anesthesiology Problem-Based Learning series reviews topics in general anesthesiology utilizing the PBL approach. Each chapter deals with conditions and problems in anesthesia practice presented as a case stem with questions to encourage critical thinking, followed by anevidence-based discussion and multiple-choice questions for self-assessment. Current in its knowledge of organ systems and management, the text keeps pace with new technology, new drugs, and new surgical techniques coupled with current guidelines for anesthetic management. Cases highlight thepractical issues that arise in the operating room and offers solutions for them.The book can be used to review an upcoming clinical case or as a PBL tool. The Stem Case and Key Questions and Discussion sections can serve as the basis for interactive learning experiences for study groups or as a broad yet in-depth clinical review of the specialty for the individual learner.Self-assessment questions can be used as a measure of knowledge acquisition or simply as a question bank to prepare for examinations.
Anesthesiology Applied Exam Board Review / Ruchir Gupta; Minh Chau Joe TranAnesthesiology Applied Exam Board Review is a comprehensive guide for preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology Applied Exam, which includes the traditional Standardized Oral Examination (SOE) and a new Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) component. This guide is also auseful review for residents preparing for in-training examinations in Anesthesiology. The text contains over 40 long and short exam stems, with questions regarding the preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Included with the book is access to the questions online for an e-learningexperience. Topics chosen are based on ABA-released exams and student feedback regarding what are the highest yielding topics for the oral board exam. Each chapter includes not just questions and answers based on ABA-provided grading criteria, but also an emphasis on how to formulate answers andbreak down complex topics and processes into simpler formats.
Anesthesiology Critical Care Board Review / George W. Williams (Editor); Navneet Kaur Grewal (Editor); Marc J. Popovich (Editor)Anesthesiology Critical Care Board Review fills a much-needed niche, not only in improving board examination test-taking skills but also as a tool for educating critical care physicians, anesthesiology practitioners, and advanced practice providers with the most relevant, up-to-date, state ofthe art considerations in critical care medicine. Content is specifically designed to prepare Anesthesiology and Emergency Medicine critical care fellows for the American Board of Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Certification Examination. The book offers diagnostic and therapeutic managementconsiderations, divided into sections on technical aspects of critical care and organ systems, in a question-and answer format with clear, concise explanations and targeted references for each question.