It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Congress of Neurological Surgeons Essential Papers in Neurosurgery / Najib E. El Tecle (Editor); Tarek Y. El Ahmadieh (Editor); Salah G. Aoun (Editor); Bernard Bendok (Editor)The Congress of Neurological Surgeons Essential Papers in Neurosurgery brings to the neurosurgical community a unique collection of critically appraised neurosurgical papers shedding light on some of the most impactful studies in the history of the field. Separating the signal from the noise,this text offers papers that have shaped the practice of neurosurgery, selected through a rigorous process, and commented on by editorialists to reconcile conflicting points and summarize the take-home message of each study. Each paper is reviewed by a panel of two experts who provide editorialsevaluating the strengths and weaknesses of the paper as well as the impact it had on the editorialist's personal practice of neurosurgery. This book is equally suited for neurosurgery residents, practicing neurosurgeons, and anyone interested in evidence-based clinical neuroscience. The body ofliterature covered in this book has in many ways defined the gold standards of neurosurgical practice and is a must-know for every student of neurosurgery.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery, Fourth Edition / Anil LalwaniA complete, concise review of the science and clinical practice of otolaryngology --- head and neck surgery --- with a new full-color presentation The must-have resource for ENT board review and recertification *The acclaimed one-stop clinician's guide to treating all major diseases of the ear, nose, throat, and neck *Emphasizes the practical features of clinical diagnosis and patient management *Conveniently organized by anatomic region *FOUR NEW CHAPTERS: Professional Voice Assessment and Care; Neurolaryngology; Aural Rehabilitation and Hearing Aids; and Endoscopic Skull Base Surgery *Consistent presentation includes General Considerations, Pathogenesis, Prevention, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, and Treatment *Must-know medical and surgical management of each disorder *Thorough discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Comprehensive radiology chapter with more than 150 images *"Essentials of Diagnosis" section for each disease and disorder delivers key points at a glance *All new full color interior design with more than 500 color illustrations *Valuable to otolaryngologists as well as all the medical and surgical specialties and related disciplines that treat patients with head and neck disorders *Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity * Spans the entire breadth of ENT topics, including the latest developments in basic science, facial plastic surgery, head and neck surgery, laryngology, rhinology, pediatric otolaryngology, otology, and neurotology
Mayo Clinic General Surgery / Jad M. Abdelsattar; Moustafa M. El Khatib; T. K. Pandian; Samuel J. Allen; David R. FarleyMayo Clinic General Surgery is a concise text that aims to provide learners with knowledge crucial to the development of surgical skill. Featuring nearly 200 "challenge" questions designed to reveal the gaps in your surgical knowledge and over 200 instructional videos, with accompanying videostills and transcripts, this book offers multiplatform educational content in a learner-friendly format. Contents include surgery by organ system, such as the esophagus and colon, and a special chapter for trauma assessment. Each chapter contains information on the organ system, includingembryology, anatomy, and physiology, as well as clinical presentations and imaging techniques. Finally, every chapter offers descriptions of operations and potential postoperative complications.Dr. Farley and his coauthors present the core concepts of general surgery instruction at Mayo Clinic, offering a unique glimpse at surgical training in this world-renowned institution. This book provides succinct and accurate information in a written, visual, and audiovisual format that allowsefficient access to surgical learners-especially those with just a few minutes to spare. Ultimately, the goal is to better prepare students, residents, and fellows for their surgical experiences and lead to better understanding with long-term retention.
Oxford Handbook of ENT and Head and Neck Surgery / Rogan Corbridge; Nicholas SteventonThe aim of this new third edition of the Oxford Handbook of ENT and Head and Neck Surgery, like all other Oxford Handbooks, is to provide a compact, comprehensive, and easily accessible guide to all areas of the field.The core text is based on an anatomical list of ear nose and throat diseases. There are separate sections on ENT examinations, investigations, common operations, ward care, and emergencies, as well as a chapter detailing the roles of other ENT health professionals. There is also a chapter on commonmethods of presentation, which acts a guide for dealing with patients as they present in clinical practice. This enables diagnosis based on symptoms, history, and relevant investigations, and also cross-references to more detailed information in individual anatomical chapters.This edition also features a new chapter on the ENT specialty in the rest of the world, as well as an illustrated overview of flaps, expanded information on the ear, and new figures to aid understanding, making this Handbook an essential companion to all trainees and nurses specialising inENT.
Surgery of the Hip / Daniel J. Berry; Jay LiebermanOffering authoritative, comprehensive coverage of hip surgery, the 2nd Edition of Surgery of the Hip is the definitive guide to hip replacement, other open and arthroscopic surgical procedures, and surgical and nonsurgical management of the hip across the lifespan. Modeled after Insall & Scott Surgery of the Knee, it keeps you fully up to date with the latest research, techniques, tools, and implants, enabling you to offer both adults and children the best possible outcomes. Detailed guidance from expert surgeons assists you with your toughest clinical challenges, including total hip arthroplasty, pediatric hip surgery, trauma, and hip tumor surgery. Discusses new topics such as direct anterior approach for total hip arthroplasty, hip pain in the young adult, and hip preservation surgery. Contains new coverage of minimally invasive procedures, bearing surface selection, management of complications associated with metal and metal bearing surfaces, management of bone loss associated with revision THA, and more. Provides expert, personal advice in "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Helps you make optimal use of the latest imaging techniques, surgical procedures, equipment, and implants available. Includes access to select procedural videos online. Covers tumors of the hip, hip instability and displacement in infants and young children, traumatic injuries, degenerative joint disorders, and rehabilitation considerations-all from both a basic science and practical clinical perspective. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgery of the Thyroid and Parathyroid Glands / Gregory W. RandolphBringing together more than over 120 expert contributors from otolaryngology, general surgery, endocrinology, and pathology, Surgery of the Thyroid and Parathyroid Glands, 3rd Edition, presents an interdisciplinary approach to surgical management and treatment of benign and malignant disease. This renowned text/atlas is an ideal resource at all levels of surgical experience: for residents and junior surgeons, it clearly provides all relevant anatomy, surgical procedures, and workup; for experienced surgeons, it details the management of difficult cases, including revision surgery. Highly illustrated and accompanied by dozens of videos, this edition brings you up to date with the full continuum of care in thyroid and parathyroid surgery. Easy-to-follow, templated chapters cover preoperative evaluation, surgical anatomy, intraoperative techniques, and postoperative management, for a full range of disorders of the thyroid and parathyroid glands. More than 30 procedural videos walk you step by step through minimally invasive thyroid surgery, surgical anatomy and monitoring of the recurrent laryngeal nerve, surgery for locally advanced thyroid cancer and nodal disease, and more; plus 23 chapter guide videos from the authors with Surgical Text Video Editor-in-Chief Gregory W. Randolph, Jr . Coverage of cutting-edge topics includes recurrent laryngeal nerve monitoring, minimally invasive surgery and the role of PET in staging and surgical planning. Expert guidance on thyroid cancer, including multiple chapters on PTC, MTC and HCC, ATC and NIFTP. New chapters cover medical oncology and TKI therapy. Extensive coverage of key topics such as FNA mutational analysis, transoral and minimally invasive surgery, recurrent laryngeal nerve monitoring, management of RLN paralysis, all aspects of parathyroid disease, ethics, malpractice, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.