It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Concussion / Blessen C. Eapen; David X. CifuThis practical reference, edited by Drs. Blessen C. Eapen and David X. Cifu, covers the full spectrum of assessment, management, and rehabilitation after concussion. It includes best practices and considerations for numerous patient populations and their unique needs in an easy-to-read, concise format. Geared toward physiatrists, neurologists, primary care physicians, and rehabilitation professionals, this book provides the key information you need to guide your treatment plans and help patients recover after concussion. Consolidates the most current information and guidance in this challenging and diverse area into?one convenient resource. Covers acute management of concussions, diagnostic criteria, neuroimaging, biomarkers, chronic traumatic encephalopathy and return-to-play, school, and duty protocols. ? Discusses special populations, including pediatrics, sports, military, and veteran patients. Covers post-concussive syndrome and its management of sequelae after concussion.
ESC Handbook of Cardiovascular Rehabilitation / Ana Abreu (Editor); Jean-Paul Schmid (Editor); Massimo Piepoli (Editor)This guide is directed at the multi-disciplinary team dealing with cardiac rehabilitation. It is a practical handbook for everyday professionals on what they should do following cardiac events and return to work. It is adapted to the needs of cardiac rehabilitation centers.DT Key publication from the European Association of Preventive Cardiology (EAPC)DT Companion handbook to The ESC Handbook of Preventive Cardiology: Putting Prevention into PracticeThis handbook is directed at cardiologists in training and practice, specialist (cardiac) nurses, technicians, exercise physiologists and other healthcare professionals involved in the multidisciplinary process of cardiac rehabilitationDT Practical user-friendly handbook style presentationDT Covers the complete spectrum of rehabilitation careDT Key team members address key issues - smoking, diet and physical activityDT Focus on high risk patients (family approach)
Oxford Textbook of Neurorehabilitation / Volker Dietz (Editor); Nick S. Ward (Editor)Neurorehabilitation is an expanding field with an increasing clinical impact due to an ageing population. During the last 20 years, neurorehabilitation has developed from a discipline with little scientific background, separated from other medical centers, to a medical entity largely based onthe principles of "evidenced based medicine" with strong ties to basic research and clinical neurology. Today neurorehabilitation is still a work in progress and treatment standards are not yet established for all aspects of the field. There are very few books that address contemporaryneurorehabilitation from this perspective.This new edition of the Oxford Textbook of Neurorehabilitation provides an understanding of the theoretical underpinnings of the subject as well as a clear perspective on how (and why) to approach treatment decisions on an individualized basis. The book has been thoroughly updated to reflect novelimportant developments in the field and includes new chapters on vocational rehabilitation, self-management strategies in neurorehabilitation, and music supported therapy in neurorehabilitation. This indispensable book will be of great interest to rehabilitation physicians, neurologists, and alliedhealth care professionals who look after patients requiring neurorehabilitation.
Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity, 2-Volume Set / Terri M. Skirven; A. Lee Osterman; Jane Fedorczyk; Peter C. Amadio; Sheri Felder; Eon K. ShinLong recognized as an essential reference for therapists and surgeons treating the hand and the upper extremity, Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity helps you return your patients to optimal function of the hand, wrist, elbow, arm, and shoulder. Leading hand surgeons and hand therapists detail the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of virtually any disorder you're likely to see, with a focus on evidence-based and efficient patient care. Extensively referenced and abundantly illustrated, the 7th Edition of this reference is a "must read" for surgeons interested in the upper extremity, hand therapists from physical therapy or occupational therapy backgrounds, anyone preparing for the CHT examination, and all hand therapy clinics. Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of hand and upper extremity disorders, forming a complete picture for all members of the hand team-surgeons and therapists alike. Provides multidisciplinary, global guidance from a Who's Who list of hand surgery and hand therapy editors and contributors. Includes many features new to this edition: considerations for pediatric therapy; a surgical management focus on the most commonly used techniques; new timing of therapeutic interventions relative to healing characteristics; and in-print references wherever possible. Features more than a dozen new chapters covering Platelet-Rich Protein Injections, Restoration of Function After Adult Brachial Plexus Injury, Acute Management of Upper Extremity Amputation, Medical Management for Pain, Proprioception in Hand Rehabilitation, Graded Motor Imagery, and more. Provides access to an extensive video library that covers common nerve injuries, hand and upper extremity transplantation, surgical and therapy management, and much more. Helps you keep up with the latest advances in arthroscopy, imaging, vascular disorders, tendon transfers, fingertip injuries, mobilization techniques, traumatic brachial plexus injuries, and pain management-all clearly depicted with full-color illustrations and photographs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation / Rolando T. LazaroDevelop problem-solving strategies for individualized, effective neurologic care! Under the new leadership of Rolando Lazaro, Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation, 7th Edition, covers the therapeutic management of people with activity limitations, participation restrictions, and quality of life issues following a neurological event. This comprehensive reference reviews basic theory and addresses the best evidence for evaluation tools and interventions commonly used in today's clinical practice. It applies a time-tested, evidence-based approach to neurological rehabilitation that is perfect for both the classroom and the clinic. Now fully searchable with additional case studies through Student Consult, this edition includes updated chapters and the latest advances in neuroscience. Comprehensive reference offers a thorough understanding of all aspects of neurological rehabilitation. Expert authorship and editors lend their experience and guidance for on-the-job success. UNIQUE! A section on neurological problems accompanying specific system problems includes hot topics such as poor vision, vestibular dysfunction, dementia and problems with cognition, and aging with a disability. A problem-solving approach helps you apply your knowledge to examinations, evaluations, prognoses, and intervention strategies. Evidence-based research sets up best practices, covering topics such as the theory of neurologic rehabilitation, screening and diagnostic tests, treatments and interventions, and the patient's psychosocial concerns. Case studies use real-world examples to promote problem-solving skills. Comprehensive coverage of neurological rehabilitation across the lifespan - from pediatrics to geriatrics. Terminology adheres to the best practices, follows The Guide to Physical Therapy Practice and the WHO-ICF World Health model. NEW! enhanced eBook on Student Consult. UPDATED! Color photos and line drawings clearly demonstrate important concepts and clinical conditions students will encounter in practice. NEW and EXPANDED! Additional case studies and videos illustrate how concepts apply to practice. Updated chapters incorporate the latest advances and the newest information in neurological rehabilitation strategies. NEW and UNIQUE! New chapter on concussion has been added. Separate and expanded chapters on two important topics: Balance and Vestibular.