It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Error and Uncertainty in Diagnostic Radiology / Michael A. BrunoOver the past decade, radiological imaging tests - including CT scanning, MRI, PET, X-rays, ultrasound, fluoroscopy and other modalities - have become essential to the routine diagnostic process. While these modern advanced medical images and their striking anatomic detail have discoveredunderlying issues, they have also contributed to a false impression of infallibility. Unlike other straightforward diagnostic tests, such as the EKG or blood chemistry panel, radiological imaging tests are highly variable and complex, often yielding uncertain results, as well as frequentfalse-negatives and false-positives. The experts who interpret the images (the diagnostic radiologists) sometimes make mistakes: the practice of diagnostic radiology is a fallible, human endeavour, one involving complex perceptual, neuro-physiological and cognitive processes employed under a widerange of circumstances, and with a great deal of variability.Error and Uncertainty in Diagnostic Radiology opens the "black box," of medical imaging, exposing the remarkable inner workings of the process of diagnostic radiology - including how and why it can sometimes go tragically wrong. The occurrence of radiological error is shown to be fundamentallyintertwined with the underlying high level of uncertainty known to be present in the diagnostic process. As a foremost expert on radiology quality and safety, Dr. Bruno provides insight into the various types of radiologist error, along with a conceptual framework for understanding error anduncertainty in radiology, leading to practical strategies for error prevention and for reducing the risk of harm to patients when errors inevitably occur.This book is essential for radiologists, members of the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine, emergency physicians, medical educators, medical and hospice administrators, especially quality and safety officers, as well as malpractice insurance carriers.
Fundamentals of Skeletal Radiology / Clyde A. HelmsTrusted by thousands of radiology residents, students, and clinicians, the "pink book" continues to be the perfect first book for essential, easily accessible information in skeletal imaging. Fundamentals of Skeletal Radiology, 5th Edition, provides an authoritative introduction to x-rays, MR, and other skeletal imaging modalities, offering a quick, effective review of musculoskeletal imaging in a concise, easy-to-read style. Depicts musculoskeletal imaging concepts and techniques through hundreds of high-quality digital radiographs, MRIs, bone scans, and CT images. Uses a succinct, highly accessible writing style for easy, straightforward understanding of complex material. Updates include numerous new, high-quality MR images and extensive coverage of MRI of the spine and joints, including imaging protocols, common pathologies, and detailed specifics on reading and interpretation. Presents full-color imaging examples to help you discern subtleties and nuances for efficient and accurate interpretation. Discusses radiation dosage concerns, early detection, avoiding unnecessary exams, and common skeletal conditions, including a chapter on trauma. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology, 2 Volume Set / Andy Adam; Adrian K. Dixon; Jonathan H. Gillard; Cornelia Schaefer-ProkopMaster the information you need to know for practice and prepare for certification or recertification with a succinct, comprehensive account of the entire spectrum of imaging modalities and their clinical applications. Throughout six outstanding editions, Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology has stood alone as the single comprehensive reference on general diagnostic radiology. Now in two succinct volumes, the 7th Edition of this landmark text continues to provide complete coverage of all currently available imaging techniques and their clinical applications - the essential information you need to succeed in examinations and understand current best practices in radiological diagnosis. Organizes content along an organ and systems basis, covering all diagnostic imaging techniques in an integrated, correlative fashion, with a focus on the topics that matter most to a trainee radiologist in the initial years of training. Contains more than 4,000 high-quality illustrations that enhance and clarify the text. Features an expanded section on cardiac imaging to reflect major developments in cardiac MRI, including 3D ultrasound, PET, and SPECT. Integrates functional and molecular imaging throughout each section, and includes the latest image-guided biopsy and ablation techniques. Provides an ideal resource for written, oral, and re-certifying board study as well as for a clinical practice refresher on topics that may have been forgotten. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology Essentials / Lee A. Grant; Nyree GriffinWith up-to-date, easy-access coverage of every aspect of diagnostic radiology, Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology Essentials, 2nd Edition, is an ideal review and reference for radiologists in training and in practice. This comprehensive overview of fundamental information in the field prepares you for exams and answers the practical questions you encounter every day. In a single, convenient volume, this one-stop resource is derived from, and cross-referenced to, the renowned authoritative reference work Grainger & Allison's Diagnostic Radiology, 6th Edition. Concentrates on the subjects that general diagnostic radiologists need to know, covering all diagnostic imaging modalities and organized by organ and system. Uses a concise, highly templated, bulleted format that helps you find the answers you need quickly and easily. Features more than 2,000 high-quality images, including plain film, CT, MRI, and ultrasound. Presents images directly linked to relevant text on the facing page - no flipping back and forth to review the key radiological features of disease entities. Features a new section on interventional radiology that covers interventional vascular radiology techniques, cross sectional angiography, specific drainage techniques, tumor ablation principles, and intervention in hepatobiliary, genitourinary and gynecological conditions. Contains a new section on functional imaging which includes both MRI (diffusion weighted imaging and perfusion MRI) and PETCT. Includes diagnostic "pearls" that help you avoid pitfalls and errors in diagnosis. Includes a useful Appendix with many quick-reference items that are hard to remember but essential in day-to-day practice. New content includes intravascular contrast media, anticoagulation agents and sedation, the latest TNM 8th edition of staging cancers, and new section on PI-RADS and BI-RADS. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Interventional Radiology / Bradley B. Pua (Editor); Anne M. Covey (Editor); David C. Madoff (Editor)In 2012, the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) approved Interventional Radiology (IR) as its own specialty. Born out of the field of Diagnostic Radiology, IR requires a more clinical focus on initial consultation and post-procedural management, rather than its previous role of performing image-guided procedures. Interventional Radiology: Fundamentals of Clinical Practice is written with this new focus in mind to help readers incorporate their procedural knowledge into a holistic approach of patient management. Chapters explore topics across a broad spectrum of IR, with a focus on etiology and pathophysiology of disease, followed by discussions on intra-procedural and post-procedural management. Numerous tables and boxes, and over 420 total figures complement chapter content. This comprehensive text is a must-have for IR residents and all practicing interventional radiologists.
Learning Radiology / William HerringThe leading introductory radiology text for medical students and others who are required to read and interpret common radiologic images, Learning Radiology, 4th Edition, stresses an easy-to-follow pattern recognition approach that teaches how to differentiate normal and abnormal images. Dr. William Herring's clear, conversational writing style employs a touch of humor to explain what you need to know to effectively interpret medical images of all modalities. From the basics of patient safety, dose reduction, and radiation protection to the latest information on ultrasound, MRI, and CT, this concise, user-friendly text provides a complete, up-to-date introduction to radiology needed by today's students. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Teaches how to arrive at a diagnosis by following a pattern recognition approach, and logically overcome difficult diagnostic challenges with the aid of decision trees. Features an easy-to-read bulleted format, high-quality illustrations, useful tables, and teaching boxes, as well as special content on Diagnostic Ptifalls; Really Important Points; Weblinks; and Take-Home Points. Includes three new chapters: Vascular, Pediatric, and Point-of-Care Ultrasound; Using Image-Guided Interventions in Diagnosis and Treatment (Interventional Radiology); Recognizing the Imaging Findings of Breast Disease. Helps ensure mastery of the material with additional online content, bonus images, and USMLE-style Q&A that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Shares the extensive knowledge and experience of esteemed author Dr. William Herring?a skilled radiology teacher and the host of his own specialty website, www.learningradiology.com. Offers quick review and instruction for medical students, residents, and fellows, as well as those in related fields such as nurse practitioners and physician assistants. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.