It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Pediatrics Board Review / Shahram Yazdani (Editor); Carlos Lerner (Editor); Audrey Crummey (Editor); Deepa Kulkarni (Editor); Charles A. Newcomer (Editor)General Pediatrics Board Review is a comprehensive guide for recent residency graduates and re-certifiers preparing for the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) board exam. The text consists of over 1000 multiple-choice questions, organized into 25 chapters covering pediatrics topics such asfetal and neonatal care, adolescent and young adult medicine, genetics, child maltreatment, pediatric infectious diseases, gastrointestinal disorders, and more. Chapters include questions, answers with detailed explanations and references to primary or landmark articles to help better navigate astandardized exam. Questions are written in a case-based format that emulates the ABP board exam, and are supplemented by figures, tables, and boxes. A Quick Facts section rounds out the text for ease of reference.
Liver Disease in Children / Frederick J. Suchy (Editor); Ronald J. Sokol (Editor); William F. Balistreri (Editor)Liver disease in children is increasing in prevalence, placing a huge burden on healthcare systems and often requiring long-term management. Offering an integrative approach to the science and clinical practice of pediatric hepatology, this is the definitive reference text for improved diagnosis and treatment strategies. In the new edition of this authoritative text, chapters have been thoroughly revised in line with major advances in the field, such as recognizing the increased frequency of fatty liver disease, and how genetic testing has the potential to establish earlier diagnoses for a variety of diseases. Disorders covered include cholestasis, metabolic disorders and hepatitis, with their presentation across the spectrum of infancy, childhood and adolescence discussed. The indications and surgical aspects of liver transplant are explained and post-transplant care is described in detail. This is a valuable resource for pediatricians, hepatologists, gastroenterologists and all clinicians involved in the care of children with liver diseases.
Neonatal Hematology / Pedro A. de Alarcón (Editor); Eric J. Werner (Editor); Robert D. Christensen (Editor)Neonatal hematology is a fast-growing field, and the majority of sick neonates will develop hematological problems. This is an essential guide to the pathogenesis, diagnosis and management of hematologic problems in the neonate. Guidance is practical, including blood test interpretation, advice on transfusions and reference ranges for hematological values. Chapters have been thoroughly revised according to the latest advances in the field for this updated third edition. Topics discussed include erythrocyte disorders, platelet disorders, leukocyte disorders, immunologic disorders and hemostatic disorders. Coverage of oncological issues has been expanded to two separate chapters on leukemia and solid tumors, making information more easily accessible. Approaches to identifying the cause of anemia in a neonate are explained, with detailed algorithms provided to aid clinicians in practice. Covering an important hematologic niche with an ever increasing amount of specialized knowledge, this book is a valuable resource for hematologists, neonatologists and pediatricians.
Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners / Myung K. Park; Mehrdad SalamatProviding authoritative, everyday guidance in the diagnosis and management of children with congenital and acquired heart disease, Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners is the go-to reference of choice for pediatricians, family practitioners, NPs, and PAs-as well as medical students, residents, and fellows. The 7th Edition of this core text comprehensively covers every aspect of pediatric cardiology in an easy-to-read, practical manner for the non-specialist, bringing you completely up to date with all that's new in this fast-changing field. Covers everything from history and physical examination through preventative treatment and the management of special problems. Incorporates all of the latest concepts and most recent developments in pediatric cardiology. Offers highly accessible content through the extensive use of numbered lists, easy-to-use tables, and explanatory graphs and diagrams. Features new chapter outlines, as well as a new larger size and two-color format for greater readability. Provides fresh perspectives and expertise from new author Dr. Mehrdad Salamat, who joins Dr. Park for this 7th Edition. Synthesizes the most important references for generalists in a Suggested Readings section, ideal for additional reading in greater depth. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Anesthesia Procedures / Anna Clebone (Editor); Barbara Burian (Editor); Keith J. Ruskin (Series edited by)There is a decreased tolerance for error when pediatric patients undergo medical procedures. It is, therefore, important to accomplish procedures as quickly and accurately as possible. Pediatric Anesthesia Procedures is designed to provide rapid access to information in order to solve aclinical problem as it is occurring. Its pictorial, highly visual format will allow anesthesiologists and other clinicians to review and "see" the procedures during planning stages, making it a practical resource to keep in the operating room for quick and easy reference during time-pressuredsituations. This will make it especially useful for practitioners doing procedures that they perform infrequently-or must perform for the first time during an emergent or urgent situation.The chapters within cover a wide variety of basic and advanced pediatric anesthesia procedures and provide generously illustrated step-by-step guidelines for performing them. Each is introduced with an accessible description, followed by a variety of high-quality graphic images - including detailedphotographs, magnetic resonance images, computed tomography images, and ultrasound images - and detailed instructions.
Pediatric Emergencies / Emily Rose (Editor)Pediatric Emergencies comprehensively covers the practical management of pediatric emergencies based on organ systems, with a strong emphasis on clinical relevance. Each chapter explores the background, classic clinical presentation, atypical clinical presentation, differential diagnosis,diagnostic confirmation, treatment, clinical algorithm, disposition, complications, and pitfalls of each topic. Clinical pearls included in each chapter can be used at the bedside, and case examples allow readers to compare and contrast pediatric complaints to adult presentations. More clinicallyfocused than a traditional textbook, and more comprehensive than a typical clinical guide, Pediatric Emergencies is an ideal resource for emergency providers of various backgrounds and training, including emergency physicians, emergency medicine residents, pediatric emergency medicine fellows,pediatricians, and other primary care providers who work in urgent care settings.
Pediatric Hand Therapy / Joshua M. Abzug (Editor); Scott H. Kozin (Editor); Rebecca Neiduski (Editor)Get a quick, expert overview of optimal therapeutic interventions for pediatric patients with musculoskeletal conditions of the hand. This concise resource by Drs. Joshua Abzug, Scott Kozin, and Rebecca Neiduski offers practical recommendations and guidelines along with key background information, for a well-rounded, concise perspective on hand therapy for children. You'll benefit from the knowledge and experience of orthopaedic surgeons and other members of the rehabilitation care team who provide a real-world, multidisciplinary approach to this complex field. Covers a wide range of musculoskeletal conditions, including congenital disorders, joint disorders, neuromuscular disorders, sports-related injuries, trauma, and burns. Includes supporting background information, including an overview of embryology, intrauterine diagnosis, and physical functional development. Discusses complementary clinical approaches, including orthotic intervention and prosthetics. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single convenient resource.
Sperling Pediatric Endocrinology / Mark A. SperlingAn ideal resource for both pediatricians and endocrinologists, Sperling's Pediatric Endocrinology, 5th Edition, brings you fully up to date with accelerating research; new discoveries in metabolic, biochemical and molecular mechanisms; and the resulting advances in today's clinical care. The editorial team of world-renowned pediatric endocrinologists led by Dr. Mark Sperling, as well as expert contributing authors, cover comprehensive and current aspects of both basic science and clinical practice. Whether you're preparing for certification or have extensive clinical experience, this detailed, authoritative reference helps you increase your knowledge and determine the best possible course for every patient. Delivers trusted guidance in every area of the field: including Endocrine Disorders of the Newborn, Endocrine Disorders of Childhood and Adolescence, and Laboratory Tests. Features new topics such as transgender issues in children and adolescents and endocrinology of pregnancy, the fetus and the placenta. Offers expert coverage of hot topics such as disorders of sexual development, molecular basis of endocrine disorders, hypoglycemia in newborns and infants; neonatal and other monogenic forms of diabetes; Type I and Type II diabetes and their treatment with new insulins together with the progress in an artificial pancreas and new medications for T2DM in adolescents; the obesity epidemic and role of bariatric surgery; and advances toward personalized medicine. Includes easy-to-follow algorithms and numerous quick-reference tables and boxes in every clinical chapter, plus interactive questions online for self-assessment. Offers state-of-the-art information and fresh perspectives from new and award-winning authors in such areas as disorders of growth, multiple endocrine tumors, and puberty and its disorders in girls and boys. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.