It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advances in Parasitology / David Rollinson (Series edited by); Russell Stothard (Volume Editor)Advances in Parasitology, Volume 111, the latest release in this ongoing series, includes medical studies of parasites of major influence, along with reviews of more traditional areas, such as zoology, taxonomy and life history. Chapters in this update include Taking the strain out of onchocerciasis: a reanalysis of blindness and transmission data does not support the existence of a savanna blinding strain of onchocerciasis in West Africa, Enterocytozoon bieneusi of animals, Taenia solium taeniasis/cysticercosis, Genomic analysis reveals predominant clonality and progressive evolution at all evolutionary scales in eukaryotic pathogens, HTLV-I and Strongyloides: the worm lurking beneath, and more.
Highlighting Operational and Implementation Research for Control of Helminthiasis / Jennifer Keiser (Volume Editor)Highlighting Operational and Implementation Research for Control of Helminthiasis, Volume 103 in the Advances in Parasitology series, includes medical studies of parasites of major influence, along with reviews of more traditional areas, such as zoology, taxonomy and life history, all topics which help to shape current thinking and applications. This latest release includes chapters on Helminthiasis Epidemiology and Control: Scoring Successes and Meeting the Remaining Challenges, Worms, History and Swiss TPH, Mobile Microscopy, Combination Chemotherapy, DNDi Portfolio, Pediatric Praziquantel, lessons learned, and Community and Drug Distributor Perceptions and Experiences of Mass Drug Administration for the Elimination of Lymphatic Filariasis, amongst other topics.
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Disease / Timothy P. Endy; Tom Solomon; David R. Hill; Naomi AronsonNew emerging diseases, new diagnostic modalities for resource-poor settings, new vaccine schedules . all significant, recent developments in the fast-changing field of tropical medicine. Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases, 10th Edition, keeps you up to date with everything from infectious diseases and environmental issues through poisoning and toxicology, animal injuries, and nutritional and micronutrient deficiencies that result from traveling to tropical or subtropical regions. This comprehensive resource provides authoritative clinical guidance, useful statistics, and chapters covering organs, skills, and services, as well as traditional pathogen-based content. You'll get a full understanding of how to recognize and treat these unique health issues, no matter how widespread or difficult to control. Includes important updates on malaria, leishmaniasis, tuberculosis and HIV, as well as coverage of Ebola, Zika virus, Chikungunya, and other emerging pathogens. Provides new vaccine schedules and information on implementation. Features five all-new chapters: Neglected Tropical Diseases: Public Health Control Programs and Mass Drug Administration; Health System and Health Care Delivery; Zika; Medical Entomology; and Vector Control - as well as 250 new images throughout. Presents the common characteristics and methods of transmission for each tropical disease, as well as the applicable diagnosis, treatment, control, and disease prevention techniques. Contains skills-based chapters such as dentistry, neonatal pediatrics and ICMI, and surgery in the tropics, and service-based chapters such as transfusion in resource-poor settings, microbiology, and imaging. Discusses maladies such as delusional parasitosis that are often seen in returning travelers, including those making international adoptions, transplant patients, medical tourists, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
National Institute of Parasitic Diseases, China / Xiao-Nong Zhou (Volume Editor); Dirk Engels (Volume Editor); Yu Wang (Volume Editor)National Institute of Parasitic Diseases, China: 70 Years and Beyond, Volume 110 covers the major achievements gained in the research and control of parasitic diseases in China, e.g. schistosomiasis, malaria, lymphatic filariasis, echinococcosis, visceral leishmaniasis, soil-transmitted helminthiasis, foodborne clonorchiasis, angiostrongyliasis, taeniasis and cysticercosis, etc. The book introduces approaches that can be developed with big data analytic tools, how to use surveillance-response systems at national and regional levels, and tactics to promote the national parasitic resources center to support various research and control activities. Finally, a chapter on the roadmap for parasitic diseases control in China from 2020 to 2030 is presented.
Peters' Atlas of Tropical Medicine and Parasitology / David Moore; Stephen Morris-Jones; Laura NabarroNewly organized and featuring new editors and hundreds of new images, Peters' Atlas of Tropical Medicine and Parasitology, Seventh Edition, brings you up to date with today's greatest challenges in tropical medicine. Increased global travel, climate change, human conflict, short-term/large-scale human assemblies, potent therapeutic agents, drug resistance, and vaccine misinformation have contributed to a greatly changed landscape in this complex field. This practical, highly visual guide provides more than 1,300 stunning illustrations, making it an authoritative parasitology resource for accurate diagnosis of complex diseases. Contains hundreds of new images, including more than 50 completely revised life cycles and epidemiological maps. Provides current information on Zika virus, chikungunya virus, Ebola virus, SARS and MERS-CoV caused by enzootic corona virus, tuberculosis, ceftriaxone-resistant gonorrhea, malaria, and much more. Features a completely updated and significantly streamlined text, now organized not only by primary mode of disease transmission, but extended to define disease more strictly according to the route of acquisition - a logical change that reflects the principles applied to control measures for most infections. Presents the knowledge and expertise of new editors Drs. Laura Nabarro, Stephen Morris-Jones, and David A. J. Moore. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.