It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
50 Studies Every Obstetrician-Gynecologist Should Know / Scott A. Shainker; Michael Hochman (Series edited by); Constance Liu; Noah Rindos50 Studies Every Obstetrician-Gynecologist Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of obstetrics and gynecology. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics including hypertension in pregnancy, infectious diseases of pregnancy, family planning,urogynecology, and more. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. An illustrative clinical case concludes each review, followed by brief information on other relevant studies. This book is amust-read for obstetrician-gynecologists, internists, family practitioners, nurse practitioners, and midwives, as well as anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice.
Essential Obstetrics and Gynaecology / Ian M. Symonds (Editor); Sabaratnam Arulkumaran (Editor)This is the sixth edition of a popular, highly readable primer in obstetrics and gynaecology. It has been thoroughly updated and aligns with the undergraduate curriculum in O&G devised by the Royal College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. Highly illustrated throughout Essential information points at the end of chapters Case histories Practical procedures boxes Alert (warnings or advice) and tick (guidance or definitions) boxes throughout Over 100 self-assessment MCQs Appendices: Principles of Perioperative Care; Governance, Audit and Research Reflects the national undergraduate curriculum in obstetrics and gynaecology in the UK and Australia More information on: Fetal development Screening for fetal anomaly: non-invasive prenatal testing Placenta accreta Infections acquired in pregnancy: Zika, Rubella Non-invasive prenatal testin Fetal Doppler examination, e.g. middle cerebral artery, ductus venosus Management of preterm labour: oxytocin antagonists Induction of labour: components of Bishop score Ectopic pregnancy: Caesarean scar ectopic, cornual ectopic Emergency contraception: ulipristal acetate Sterilization: salpingectomy Genital tract infections: role of sexual health clinic, contact tracing Cervix: update on HPV screening and vaccination Ovary: update FIGO staging of ovarian carcinoma; "risk reducing surgery" for ovarian cancer WHO surgical safety checklist added to Appendix A. New self-assessment OSCE questions
Obstetric Anesthesia / David H. Chestnut; Cynthia A. Wong; Lawrence C. Tsen; Warwick D. Ngan Kee; Yaakov Beilin; Jill Mhyre; Brian T. Bateman; Naveen NathanComprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes. An expert editorial team ensures that this edition remains a must-have resource for obstetric anesthesiologists and obstetricians, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiology assistants, and anesthesiology and obstetric residents and students. Presents the latest information on anesthesia techniques for labor and delivery and medical disorders that occur during pregnancy, emphasizing the treatment of the fetus and the mother as separate patients with distinct needs. Contains new chapters on shared decision-making in obstetric anesthesia and chronic pain during and after pregnancy. Features extensive revisions from cover to cover, including consolidated information on maternal infection and postoperative analgesia. Covers key topics such as neonatal assessment and resuscitation, pharmacology during pregnancy and lactation, use of nitrous oxide for labor analgesia, programmed intermittent epidural bolus (PIEB) technique, epidural analgesia-associated fever, the role of gastric ultrasonography to assess the risk of aspiration, sugammadex in obstetric anesthesia, the role of video laryngoscopy and new supraglottic airway devices, spinal dysraphism, and cardiac arrest in obstetric patients. Incorporates the latest guidelines on congenital heart disease and the management of sepsis, as well as difficult airway guidelines that are specific to obstetric anesthesia practice. Offers abundant figures, tables, and boxes that illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Obstetric Medicine / Charlotte J. Frise; Sally CollinsThere is a significant gap in the literature for a handbook which addresses general medical conditions, both acute and chronic, that may arise in pregnant woman. Obstetric Medicine, the first title in a new Oxford Specialist Handbooks series covering Obstetrics and Gynaecology, containsrelevant, accessible, and focused information to help both general physicians to manage medical conditions during pregnancy, and the specialist obstetrician manage general medicine in the pregnant patient.Pregnant women regularly present with medical problems to many different medical specialties, and as their physiology is changed by the pregnancy, so too is the way in which many chronic illnesses behave. There are also differences in which drugs or investigations may be appropriate duringpregnancy. This new specialist handbook provides a comprehensive overview of medical conditions in the pregnant patient, and covers the syllabus for both the RCOG Advanced Training Skills Module (ATSM) and the maternal medicine for obstetric trainees.Filled with links to national and international guidelines, expert advice, and evidence-based management strategies for a range of acute and chronic conditions that can occur in the pregnant woman, this handbook is an essential new addition to the literature for all physicians who work with pregnantpatients in their practice.
Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies / Mark B. Landon; Henry L. Galan; Eric R. M. Jauniaux; Deborah A. Driscoll; Vincenzo Berghella; William A. Grobman; Sarah J. Kilpatrick; Alison G. CahillHighly readable, well-illustrated, and easy to understand, Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies is an ideal day-to-day reference or study tool for residents and clinicians. This 8th Edition of this bestselling text offers fast access to evidence-based, comprehensive information, now fully revised with substantial content updates, new and improved illustrations, and a new, international editorial team that continues the tradition of excellence established by Dr. Steven Gabbe. Puts the latest knowledge in this complex specialty at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly access the information you need to treat patients, participate knowledgably on rounds, and perform well on exams. Contains at-a-glance features such as key points boxes, bolded text, chapter summaries and conclusions, key abbreviations boxes, and quick-reference tables, management and treatment algorithms, and bulleted lists throughout. Features detailed illustrations from cover to cover-many new and improved-including more than 100 ultrasound images that provide an important resource for normal and abnormal fetal anatomy. Covers key topics such as prevention of maternal mortality, diabetes in pregnancy, obesity in pregnancy, vaginal birth after cesarean section, and antepartum fetal evaluation. Provides access to 11 videos that enhance learning in areas such as cesarean delivery and operative vaginal delivery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Oxford Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology / Sabaratnam Arulkumaran (Editor); William Ledger (Editor); Lynette Denny (Editor); Stergios Doumouchtsis (Editor)The Oxford Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is an up-to-date, objective and readable text that covers the full speciality of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. This comprehensive and rigorously referenced textbook will be a vital resource in print and online for all practising clinicians.Edited by a team of four leading figures in the field, whose clinical and scientific backgrounds collectively cover the whole spectrum of Obstetrics and Gynaecology with particular expertise in fetomaternal medicine and obstetrics, gynaecological oncology, urogynaecology, and reproductive medicine,the textbook helps inform and promote evidence-based practice and improve clinical outcomes worldwide across all facets of the discipline. The editors are supported by contributors who are internationally renowned specialists and ensure high quality and global perspective to the work.Larger sections on the Basics in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Fetomaternal medicine, Management of Labour, Gynaecological problems, Gynaecological oncology are complimented by specialist sections on areas such as Neonatal Care and Neonatal Problems, Reproductive medicine, and Urogynaecology andPelvic Floor Disorders to name a few. The evidence-based presentation of current diagnostic and therapeutic methods is complemented in the text by numerous treatment algorithms, giving the reader the knowledge and tools needed for effective clinical practice.The Oxford Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is essential reading for specialist obstetricians and gynaecologists, subspecialists, and OandG trainees across the world.
Professional Ethics in Obstetrics and Gynecology / Laurence B. McCullough; Frank A. Chervenak; John H. CoverdaleA comprehensive, accessible approach to the everyday ethical challenges faced in obstetric and gynecological practice. Offering practical guidance for practitioners at all levels, the text also provides a sustained exploration of professional ethics in the intersection of obstetrics and gynecology with psychiatry. Drawing on their award-winning teaching, the authors start each chapter with goals, objectives, topics, and a list of key concepts, which are defined in a separate section. Chapters cover a multitude of topics, from pregnancy and the quest for the 'perfect' baby to end-of-life care - all underpinned by the need for professionally responsible research, advocacy, and health policy. Professional Ethics in Obstetrics and Gynecology is an indispensable resource for both trainee and practicing obstetricians and gynecologists. A chapter devoted solely to pedagogy in professional ethics in obstetrics and gynecology supports the readers' learning and those with or without formal training in ethics to teach students, residents, and colleagues.
Respiratory Disease in Pregnancy / Stephen Lapinsky (Editor); Lauren Plante (Editor)Respiratory diseases affect a large proportion of the population and can cause complications when associated with pregnancy. Pregnancy induces profound anatomical and functional physiological changes in the mother, and subjects the mother to pregnancy-specific respiratory conditions. Reviewing respiratory conditions both specific and non-specific to pregnancy, the book also addresses related issues such as smoking and mechanical ventilation. Basic concepts for the obstetrician are covered, including patient history, physiology and initial examinations. Topics such as physiological changes during pregnancy and placental gas exchange are discussed for the non-obstetrician. Guidance is practical, covering antenatal and post-partum care, as well as management in the delivery suite. An essential guide to respiratory diseases in pregnancy, this book is indispensable to both obstetricians and non-obstetric physicians managing pregnant patients.