It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advances in Applied Microbiology / Sima Sariaslani (Editor); Geoffrey M. Gadd (Editor)Advances in Applied Microbiology, Volume 113, continues the comprehensive reach of this widely read and authoritative review source in microbiology. Users will find invaluable references and information on a variety of areas relating to the topic, with this release focusing on Gaps in the Assortment of Rapid Assays for Microorganisms of Interest to the Dairy Industry, Metal reduction and corrosion by bacterial biofilms, The microbiology of red brines, Clostridium thermocellum: a microbial platform for high-value chemical production from lignocellulose, and The zincophore system in pathogenic yeasts.
Infectious Diseases, Microbiology and Virology / Luke Moore; James HatcherAn essential resource for practitioners in infectious diseases and microbiology, studying for the new FRCPath Part 1 infection examination accredited by the Royal College of Pathologists, and trainees sitting the membership exams of the Royal College of Physicians. Including over 300 multiple choice questions in an exam-style Q&A format, this guide provides an invaluable revision platform for domestic and international trainees alike, with scope to present infection-based support for other medical specialties, where infection forms a core component, including intensive care. Authored by leading specialists in infectious diseases and microbiology, this invaluable training guide is the first of its kind to cover both undergraduate and postgraduate material in infectious diseases. Mapping directly from the FRCPath and RCP infection curricula, students are able to explore areas of curriculum to gain knowledge and optimise decision-making skills, under pressure.
Medical Microbiology / Patrick R. Murray; Ken S. Rosenthal; Michael A. PfallerThe foremost text in this complex and fast-changing field, Medical Microbiology, 9th Edition, provides concise, up-to-date, and understandable explanations of key concepts in medical microbiology, immunology, and the microbes that cause human disease. Clear, engaging coverage of basic principles, immunology, laboratory diagnosis, bacteriology, virology, mycology, and parasitology help you master the essentials of microbiology?effectively preparing you for your coursework, exams, and beyond. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Features significant new information on the human microbiome and its influence on the immune and other body systems, and new developments in microbial diagnosis, treatment, diseases, and pathogens. Updates every chapter with state-of-the-art information and current literature citations. Summarizes detailed information in tabular format rather than in lengthy text. Provides review questions at the end of each chapter that correlate basic science with clinical practice. Features clinical cases that illustrate the epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of infectious diseases. Introduces microbe chapters with summaries and trigger words for easy review. Highlights the text with clear, colorful figures, clinical photographs, and images that help you visualize the clinical presentation of infections. Offers additional study features online, including 200 self-assessment questions, microscopic images of the microbes, videos, and a new integrating chapter that provides hyperlinks between the microbes, the organ systems that they affect, and their diseases. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Methods in Microbiology / Volker Gurtler (Volume Editor); Charles Pavia (Volume Editor)Immunological Methods in Microbiology, Volume 47 in the Methods in Microbiology series, highlights new advances in the field, with this new volume presenting interesting chapters on Immunological Techniques in the Clinical laboratory, Immunologic Diagnosis of HIV and Opportunistic Infections, Combining Antigen Detection and Serology for the Diagnosis of Selected Infectious Diseases, Immunologic Detection of Lyme Disease and Related Borrelioses, Immunodetection of Bacteria Causing Brucellosis, Immunological Diagnostic Techniques Used to Identify and Type Pasteurella, Immunological Tests for Diarrhea caused by Diarrheagenic Escherichia coli Targeting Their Main Virulence Factors, and much more.
Oxford Case Histories in Infectious Diseases and Microbiology / Hilary Humphreys; William L. Irving; Bridget L. Atkins; Andrew F. WoodhouseOxford Case Histories in Infection and Microbiology contains over 45 well structured cases, providing comprehensive coverage of the diagnostic and management dilemmas in clinical microbiology and infectious diseases.Each case comprises of a brief patient history with relevant clinical examination findings, thus insuring the reader is aware of how to confirm a diagnosis rapidly, with reference throughout to laboratory techniques, advice on therapy, epidemiological features, and areas which can be controversial.The cases discussed include common and important pathogens, infections, and serious conditions due to risk of onward spread. Divided by main organ systems, the book also includes a section on systemic infections, and miscellaneous cases which don't fit neatly into one category.The text is complimented by over 50 clinical photographs and laboratory illustrations. Each case includes a concise list of further reading to aid learning and understanding. The format of the book is thought provoking, and helps to improve critical thinking and interpretative skills.It is a perfect self-assessment tool for clinical microbiology and infectious diseases postgraduate trainees. It will also be on interest to medical professionals working in critical care and public health.
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Sixteenth Edition / Warren E. LevinsonPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology Covering everything you need to know for academic and career success, Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology delivers a high-yield review of the most important aspects of the topic in a concise yet comprehensive style. It explores both the basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology and discusses important infectious diseases using an organ system approach. With an effective mix of engaging text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes, this is the proven, one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. * Facilitates any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * Complete USMLE-style practice exam * Pearls impart basic science necessary for passing the USMLE * 50 clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions with answers * Color images depict clinically important findings, such as infectious disease lesions * Gram stains of bacteria, electron micrographs of viruses, and microscopic images depict fungi, protozoa, and worms * Chapters on infectious diseases from an organ system perspective
Understanding Coronavirus / Raul RabadanSince the identification of the first cases of the coronavirus in December 2019 in Wuhan, China, there has been a significant amount of confusion regarding the origin and spread of the so-called 'coronavirus', officially named SARS-CoV-2, and the cause of the disease COVID-19. Conflicting messages from the media and officials across different countries and organizations, the abundance of disparate sources of information, unfounded conspiracy theories on the origins of the newly emerging virus and the inconsistent public health measures across different countries, have all served to increase the level of anxiety in the population. Where did the virus come from? How is it transmitted? How does it cause disease? Is it like flu? What is a pandemic? What can we do to stop its spread? Written by a leading expert, this concise and accessible introduction provides answers to the most common questions surrounding coronavirus for a general audience.