Clinical Neuroendocrinology / Michael Wilkinson; S. Ali ImranThis innovative, introductory text is authored by key subject leaders in clinical neuroendocrinology with decades of research and teaching experience. Addressing the need for a concise description of human neuroendocrine systems, this important review of various significant basic science advances is relevant for all levels of experience. An indispensable resource for a variety of learners, this book will also enable biomedical science graduate students to extend their knowledge using its valuable clinical context. Beautifully illustrated, this text integrates basic scientific principles with clinical cases and includes several illustrated imaging studies, and in-depth discussions of basic principles and their interpretations. Extensive reference lists of clinical papers, teaching resources and a selection of review questions are included with each chapter, emphasizing the real-life importance of basic neuroendocrine principles in human health and disease. Clinical reviews are included to provide convenient links to more specialized texts, ensuring a successful springboard for learners worldwide.
ISBN: 1316645193
발행일자: 2019-01-03
Iron Metabolism - Hepcidin / Gerald Litwack (Editor)Iron Metabolism, Volume 110, the latest release in the Vitamins and Hormones series first published in 1943, covers the field of hormone action, vitamin action, X-ray crystal structure, physiology and enzyme mechanisms, with this release focusing on topics relating to hepcidin, bacterial infection, and iron overload, the role of heparan sulfates in hepcidin regulation, hepcidin CDNA and human gene sex hormones, growth factors and hepcidin, HFE gene polymorphisms and hereditary hemochromatosis, hepcidin and il-1beta, hepcidin-ferroportin axis, cardiomyocyte hepcidin, adipocyte iron, leptin and hepcidin, regulators of hepcidin expression, and much more.
ISBN: 0128178426
발행일자: 2019-02-26
Metabolism, Structure and Function of Plant Tetrapyrroles / Bernhard Grimm (Volume Editor)Metabolism, Structure and Function of Plant Tetrapyrroles, Volume 90, the latest release in the Advances in Botanical Research series is a compilation of the current state-of-the-art on the topic. Chapters in this new release cover Tetrapyrrole Pigments of Photosynthetic Antennae and Reaction Centers of Higher Plants: Biochemistry, Biophysics, Functions, Molecular Mechanism of Antenna Regulation, Applications, Chlorophyll c: Synthesis, Occurrence, Light-Harvesting, Absorbance, Excitation Properties, Pigment Organization in Chlorophyll-Binding Proteins (FCP), Chlorophyll d and f: Synthesis, Occurrence, Light-harvesting, Absorbance, Excitation Properties, Pigment Organization in Chlorophyll-Binding Protein Complexes, Analysis of Chlorophyll, Precursors and Derivatives by New High-Performance Liquid Chromatography and Mass Spectrometry, and much more.
ISBN: 0081027524
발행일자: 2019-05-30
Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes / Gary Butler; Jeremy KirkPaediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes looks at issues in children arising from either deficient or excessive production of hormones; chemical messengers secreted into the blood stream from specialised glands. It contains information on endocrine glands, diabetes and its management, andclinical problems such as short stature, puberty and obesity.Written by two senior clinicians, the fully revised second edition offers evidence-based guidance to practitioners in the field. With bullet points, illustrations and clinical tips, the information in this comprehensive handbook is easy to access. Presented in pocket size, this it is the idealsource to have on the ward.
ISBN: 0198786336
발행일자: 2020-05-10
Sperling Pediatric Endocrinology / Mark A. SperlingAn ideal resource for both pediatricians and endocrinologists, Sperling's Pediatric Endocrinology, 5th Edition, brings you fully up to date with accelerating research; new discoveries in metabolic, biochemical and molecular mechanisms; and the resulting advances in today's clinical care. The editorial team of world-renowned pediatric endocrinologists led by Dr. Mark Sperling, as well as expert contributing authors, cover comprehensive and current aspects of both basic science and clinical practice. Whether you're preparing for certification or have extensive clinical experience, this detailed, authoritative reference helps you increase your knowledge and determine the best possible course for every patient. Delivers trusted guidance in every area of the field: including Endocrine Disorders of the Newborn, Endocrine Disorders of Childhood and Adolescence, and Laboratory Tests. Features new topics such as transgender issues in children and adolescents and endocrinology of pregnancy, the fetus and the placenta. Offers expert coverage of hot topics such as disorders of sexual development, molecular basis of endocrine disorders, hypoglycemia in newborns and infants; neonatal and other monogenic forms of diabetes; Type I and Type II diabetes and their treatment with new insulins together with the progress in an artificial pancreas and new medications for T2DM in adolescents; the obesity epidemic and role of bariatric surgery; and advances toward personalized medicine. Includes easy-to-follow algorithms and numerous quick-reference tables and boxes in every clinical chapter, plus interactive questions online for self-assessment. Offers state-of-the-art information and fresh perspectives from new and award-winning authors in such areas as disorders of growth, multiple endocrine tumors, and puberty and its disorders in girls and boys. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323625207
발행일자: 2020-09-21
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology / Shlomo Melmed; Ronald Koenig; Clifford Rosen; Richard Auchus; Allison GoldfineExpertly bridging the gap between basic science and clinical information, Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 14th Edition, brings together an outstanding collection of world-renowned authors to provide authoritative discussions of the full spectrum of adult and pediatric endocrine system disorders. New chapters and significant revisions throughout keep you up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, clinical trials, and more. This essential reference is a must-have resource for endocrinologists, endocrine surgeons, gynecologists, internists, pediatricians, and other clinicians who need current, comprehensive coverage of this multifaceted field. Up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, and clinical trials. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of diabetes, metabolic syndrome, metabolic bones disorders, obesity, thyroid disease, testicular disorders, newly defined adrenal disorders and much more - all designed to help you provide optimal care to every patient. Contains new chapters on Global Burden of Endocrine Disease, Navigation of Endocrine Guidelines, and Transgender Endocrinology. Includes significant updates to the Diabetes section, including a new chapter on Physiology of Insulin Secretion and greater coverage of Type 2 Diabetes. Presents current information in a highly illustrated, user-friendly format for quick reference. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Neuroendocrinology /
This innovative, introductory text is authored by key subject leaders in clinical neuroendocrinology with decades of research and teaching experience. Addressing the need for a concise description of human neuroendocrine systems, this important review of various significant basic science advances is relevant for all levels of experience. An indispensable resource for a variety of learners, this book will also enable biomedical science graduate students to extend their knowledge using its valuable clinical context. Beautifully illustrated, this text integrates basic scientific principles with clinical cases and includes several illustrated imaging studies, and in-depth discussions of basic principles and their interpretations. Extensive reference lists of clinical papers, teaching resources and a selection of review questions are included with each chapter, emphasizing the real-life importance of basic neuroendocrine principles in human health and disease. Clinical reviews are included to provide convenient links to more specialized texts, ensuring a successful springboard for learners worldwide.
ISBN: 1316645193발행일자: 2019-01-03
Iron Metabolism - Hepcidin /
Iron Metabolism, Volume 110, the latest release in the Vitamins and Hormones series first published in 1943, covers the field of hormone action, vitamin action, X-ray crystal structure, physiology and enzyme mechanisms, with this release focusing on topics relating to hepcidin, bacterial infection, and iron overload, the role of heparan sulfates in hepcidin regulation, hepcidin CDNA and human gene sex hormones, growth factors and hepcidin, HFE gene polymorphisms and hereditary hemochromatosis, hepcidin and il-1beta, hepcidin-ferroportin axis, cardiomyocyte hepcidin, adipocyte iron, leptin and hepcidin, regulators of hepcidin expression, and much more.
ISBN: 0128178426발행일자: 2019-02-26
Metabolism, Structure and Function of Plant Tetrapyrroles /
Metabolism, Structure and Function of Plant Tetrapyrroles, Volume 90, the latest release in the Advances in Botanical Research series is a compilation of the current state-of-the-art on the topic. Chapters in this new release cover Tetrapyrrole Pigments of Photosynthetic Antennae and Reaction Centers of Higher Plants: Biochemistry, Biophysics, Functions, Molecular Mechanism of Antenna Regulation, Applications, Chlorophyll c: Synthesis, Occurrence, Light-Harvesting, Absorbance, Excitation Properties, Pigment Organization in Chlorophyll-Binding Proteins (FCP), Chlorophyll d and f: Synthesis, Occurrence, Light-harvesting, Absorbance, Excitation Properties, Pigment Organization in Chlorophyll-Binding Protein Complexes, Analysis of Chlorophyll, Precursors and Derivatives by New High-Performance Liquid Chromatography and Mass Spectrometry, and much more.
ISBN: 0081027524발행일자: 2019-05-30
Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes /
Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes looks at issues in children arising from either deficient or excessive production of hormones; chemical messengers secreted into the blood stream from specialised glands. It contains information on endocrine glands, diabetes and its management, andclinical problems such as short stature, puberty and obesity.Written by two senior clinicians, the fully revised second edition offers evidence-based guidance to practitioners in the field. With bullet points, illustrations and clinical tips, the information in this comprehensive handbook is easy to access. Presented in pocket size, this it is the idealsource to have on the ward.
ISBN: 0198786336발행일자: 2020-05-10
Sperling Pediatric Endocrinology /
An ideal resource for both pediatricians and endocrinologists, Sperling's Pediatric Endocrinology, 5th Edition, brings you fully up to date with accelerating research; new discoveries in metabolic, biochemical and molecular mechanisms; and the resulting advances in today's clinical care. The editorial team of world-renowned pediatric endocrinologists led by Dr. Mark Sperling, as well as expert contributing authors, cover comprehensive and current aspects of both basic science and clinical practice. Whether you're preparing for certification or have extensive clinical experience, this detailed, authoritative reference helps you increase your knowledge and determine the best possible course for every patient. Delivers trusted guidance in every area of the field: including Endocrine Disorders of the Newborn, Endocrine Disorders of Childhood and Adolescence, and Laboratory Tests. Features new topics such as transgender issues in children and adolescents and endocrinology of pregnancy, the fetus and the placenta. Offers expert coverage of hot topics such as disorders of sexual development, molecular basis of endocrine disorders, hypoglycemia in newborns and infants; neonatal and other monogenic forms of diabetes; Type I and Type II diabetes and their treatment with new insulins together with the progress in an artificial pancreas and new medications for T2DM in adolescents; the obesity epidemic and role of bariatric surgery; and advances toward personalized medicine. Includes easy-to-follow algorithms and numerous quick-reference tables and boxes in every clinical chapter, plus interactive questions online for self-assessment. Offers state-of-the-art information and fresh perspectives from new and award-winning authors in such areas as disorders of growth, multiple endocrine tumors, and puberty and its disorders in girls and boys. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323625207발행일자: 2020-09-21
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology /
Expertly bridging the gap between basic science and clinical information, Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 14th Edition, brings together an outstanding collection of world-renowned authors to provide authoritative discussions of the full spectrum of adult and pediatric endocrine system disorders. New chapters and significant revisions throughout keep you up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, clinical trials, and more. This essential reference is a must-have resource for endocrinologists, endocrine surgeons, gynecologists, internists, pediatricians, and other clinicians who need current, comprehensive coverage of this multifaceted field. Up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, and clinical trials. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of diabetes, metabolic syndrome, metabolic bones disorders, obesity, thyroid disease, testicular disorders, newly defined adrenal disorders and much more - all designed to help you provide optimal care to every patient. Contains new chapters on Global Burden of Endocrine Disease, Navigation of Endocrine Guidelines, and Transgender Endocrinology. Includes significant updates to the Diabetes section, including a new chapter on Physiology of Insulin Secretion and greater coverage of Type 2 Diabetes. Presents current information in a highly illustrated, user-friendly format for quick reference. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323555969발행일자: 2020
