It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Atlas of Emergency Medicine 5th Edition / Kevin J. Knoop; Lawrence B. Stack; Alan B. Storrow; R. Jason ThurmanPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted visual guide to emergency medicine--with 2,100+ full-color images and clinical management guidance from leading experts The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct "need-to-know" information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls--making this the most efficient visual learning guide you'll find. This updated edition includes streamlined text to allow for more images, new chapters on Rheumatologic and Mental Health Conditions, and new video clips highlighting the most important topics.
Emergency and Clinical Ultrasound Board Review / Alan Chiem (Editor); Vi Am Dinh (Editor)Emergency and Clinical Ultrasound Board Review is a comprehensive guide for preparing for the Advanced Emergency Medicine Ultrasonography or Critical Care Echocardiography board exams, and for residents preparing for in-training examinations in ultrasound. The text consists of over 500multiple-choice questions, organized into 18 chapters covering ultrasound topics such as physics, eFAST, echocardiography, thoracic, aorta, hepatobiliary, renal, pregnancy, soft tissue, ocular, procedural, airway, ENT, DVT, testicular, abdominal, and musculoskeletal applications. This is amulti-specialty work, with contributors representing the fields of emergency medicine, internal medicine, cardiology, critical care, and radiology. Chapters include questions, answers with detailed explanations and references to primary or landmark articles to help better navigate a standardizedexam. Questions are written in a case-based format that emulates the ABEM and NBE board exams, and are supplemented by over 800 figures, tables, boxes, and online videos.
Essential Elements of Wound Diagnosis / Rose Hamm; Joseph CareyA quick-reference, highly visual guide to diagnosing and treating wounds What is the wound? How should this wound be treated? Those are the two questions every clinician must answer in every wound-care situation, so that's what this book focuses on. Wound Diagnosis Made Easy provides the facts you need to quickly and accurately diagnose wounds and plan both medical and wound management. It presents all information in a highly visual way: each spread features an image of the wound on the left--70 in total--and brief description of the wound, correct diagnosis, effective treatment, and common clinical setting situations on the right. Perfect for studying for exams/boards or working in a clinical setting, Wound Diagnosis Made Easy provides key information in quick, bulleted text, so you can find the answers you need quickly and easily.
Fracture Management for Primary Care and Emergency Medicine / M. Patrice Eiff; Robert L. HatchEvaluate and treat common fractures and know when to refer uncommon ones to a specialist. This quick, practical resource presents detailed illustrations, video, and current best evidence for imaging and treating fractures so you can make accurate identifications and manage patients with confidence. Quickly find the information you need through a systematic, logical approach to each fracture. Accurately identify fractures through an extensive selection of imaging examples. Apply splints and reduce dislocations successfully thanks to detailed descriptions, illustrations, and narrated video. Tap into the latest best practices through evidence-based coverage and updated references. Effectively manage emergency situations using guidelines for emergent referral, greater detail regarding methods for closed reductions for fractures and dislocations, and more. Benefit from expanded content specifically for the emergency medicine setting, including CT, MRI, and ultrasound imaging, procedural sedation, and discharge reassessment. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Legal and Ethical Issues in Emergency Medicine / Eileen F. Baker (Editor)Part of the "What Do I Do Now?: Emergency Medicine" series, Legal and Ethical Issues in Emergency Medicine uses a case-based approach to cover common and important topics in the legal and ethical dilemmas that surface in the practice of emergency medicine. Each unique case draws upon the fourwell-established principles of bioethics: beneficence, non-maleficence, respect for autonomy, and justice. Other ethical principles, such as honesty and personal integrity, are also addressed. Chapters are rounded out by key points to remember and selected references for further reading. Legal andEthical Issues in Emergency Medicine addresses a wide range of topics including HIPPA and confidentiality, advance directives, suicidal patients, refusal of care, expert witness testimony, and more. This book is an engaging collection of thought-provoking cases which clinicians can utilize when theyencounter difficult situations in the emergency department. The volume is also a self-assessment tool that tests the reader's ability to answer the question, "What do I do now?"
Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine / Jonathan P. Wyatt; Robert G. Taylor; Kerstin de Wit; Emily J. HottonNow in its fifth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine is the essential rapid-reference guide to emergency medicine for everyone from junior doctors to specialist registrars, nurse practitioners, and paramedics. New and improved, the Handbook has been thoroughly revised throughout, with 100 extra illustrations and the latest guidelines and treatment advice, completely overhauled chapters on Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, and Paediatric emergencies, and new topics on treatment escalation, end-of-life care, and sepsis. Clear and concise, extensively updated, and packed with a host of new X-rays to aid identification and treatment, this Handbook has everything you need to thrive in the demanding world of emergency medicine today.
Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine / Peter Cameron (Editor); Mark Little (Editor); Biswadev Mitra (Editor); Conor Deasy (Editor)Since the first edition of Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine was published twenty years ago, there has been enormous change in the way emergency care is delivered. This has occurred both in countries where emergency medicine was originally developed and in those where its application was limited because of cost. Emergency medicine is now perceived as the cornerstone of response to acute illness regardless of resources. This fully revised Fifth Edition provides clear and consistent coverage of this constantly evolving specialty. Building on the success of previous editions it covers all the major topics relevant to the practice of emergency medicine. The book will prove invaluable to professionals working in this setting - including nurse specialists and paramedics - who require concise, highly practical guidance, incorporating the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines. This edition comes with an enhanced electronic version with video and self-assessment content, providing a richer learning experience and making rapid reference easier than ever before, anytime, anywhere. A comprehensive textbook of adult emergency medicine for trainee doctors - covers all the problems likely to present to a trainee in the emergency department. Chapters are highly readable and concise - boxes summarise chapter key points and highlight controversial areas of treatment. The content is highly practical, clinically orientated and thoroughly updated in all the core subjects There have been major updates in topics such as airway, shock and sepsis where guidelines have changed rapidly. The imaging chapters have also evolved with changing practice and improved technology, to be concordant with evidence on the importance of image interpretation by emergency clinicians. There are major sections on other skills and issues of key importance to today's advanced emergency medicine practitioner, such as staffing, overcrowding, triage, patient safety and quality measures. In addition, difficult topics such as death and dying, the challenging patient, ethics, giving evidence and domestic violence are covered. Governance, training, research and organisational subjects such as disaster planning and response, humanitarian emergencies and refugee medicine are included to give the reader a framework to understand the complexity of managing major emergency systems of care.
The Emergency Medicine Trauma Handbook / Alex Koyfman (Editor); Brit Long (Editor)Trauma is a leading cause of death and disability around the world, and the leading cause of death in those aged under forty-five years. Conditions such as airway obstruction, hemorrhage, pneumothorax, tamponade, bowel rupture, vascular injury, and pelvic fracture can cause death if not appropriately diagnosed and managed. This essential book provides emergency physicians with an easy-to-use reference and source for traumatic injury evaluation and management in the emergency department. It covers approaches to common, life-threatening, and traumatic diseases in the emergency department, for use on shift and as a reference for further learning. Each chapter includes a succinct overview of common traumatic injuries, with evaluation and management pearls and pitfalls. Highly illustrated with images from one of the busiest trauma centers in the US, and featuring expert contributions from a diverse set of attending physicians, this is an essential text for all emergency medicine practitioners.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition / Donald Yealy; Garth D. Meckler; J. Stephan Stapczynski; David M. Cline; Stephen H. Thomas; Judith E. Tintinalli; O. John MaPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: * Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information * Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information * Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions * World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children * Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies * Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies * Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders * Updated information on procedural sedation * Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients * Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA